Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Woods Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 769 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

Warren Woods Middle School is a wonderful school with very involved teachers. The staff is kind and makes you feel at home. Most of the students there are nice but there are some cliques (like in most schools) Overall I loved my years at the middle school and miss them!


Posted August 2, 2011

I recall my 8th grade algebra teacher preaching to us that we should all attend church. This was horribly inappropriate in a public school.


Posted August 13, 2010

Okay, I wasn't going to review, but I am now. I had a terrible experience at WWMS. Many eighth grade teachers did more discussing than giving assignments, some teachers would give you all the answers to worksheets, and not give us the opportunity to try on our own, the girls on the volleyball team (eighth grade) got prefatory treatment by male teachers, and some of it when you closely examine it seems weird. Male teachers would joke in inappropriate ways to the class, then when we would talk, we were scolded (he shouldn't have set himself up for it). The administration never honored the dress code, as in girls were almost always walking around looking very revealing (i.e., booty shorts, spaghetti strap shirts, cleavage). One of the Algebra teachers never really collected homework. Cliques and bullying are prominent at that school. Warren Consolidated is a better choice.


Posted April 29, 2010

Officer Dale makes my daughter feel uncomfterable. Once I remember him saying 'Don't mess with my girls, They're my girls. ' To this day I regret not saying that didn't sound right. The teachers expect too much out of the children. They give too much homework. The students are miserable because all the students do is gossip, argue, make up rumors.. etc. And no one deals with it. It is true that the school is full of cliques. I do not want my daughter to attend Warren Woods MS , Again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My daughter attended WWMS and is a freshmen now at WWT, she loved her years at WWMS. She mentioned that cliques existed, but was happy with her group of friends and paid little attention to the 'so called popular group'. She was active in sports, loved the teachers and is active in sports and in advanced classes at WWT now. As a parent I was active with the WWMS PTC and felt it was a welcoming and caring group supported by the school's administration. I feel it's important for parents to proactively be involved. I would definitely recommend Warren Woods MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

very good i love this school!!!! it gives you skills that you will need when you go off on your own!!! whouldnt trade the school!!! everyone is so nice and VeRy friendly!!!.... You get a 10 out of 5 stars!!! love!!! ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

The administration at WWMS completely ignores the terrible way students treat each other. Gossip, name-calling and cliques are everywhere. There's one day, 'No Dissing Day,' that acknowledges the problem - but what does that make every other day? It is hard for children to learn in this atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I currently attend wwms , the school really pay attention on what you do, alot of student are miserable there beacause of gossip,fights,and teasing you really have to be popular to fit in here and i think its wrong, althought the teachers are great at teaching and fun to be around with
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

This school is very good. It does allow for children having trouble to still attend school with more of a hands of approach through it's Enterpise High School. The school is safe and the Warren Police Officer (Officer Dale) interacts with the children very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2006

Warren Woods Middle School is not very good at allowing kids who are over average to learnd apart from those who are still struggling. However, it does do a very good job of getting kids to participate in spirit days and activities that help the school and community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2005

This is a great school. The students are very athletic and dedicated. Teachers also set good examples. New students will have no trouble fitting in. Go wolverines!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2004

I think our school is over all pretty safe. I would like to see more parent involvment for our parents to help. I think that there shall be more learning tools to help us more. Maybe it could be more fun if we had a few more things. If we could maybe play games to help us study for a quiz such as Ms. Soho and Mrs. Elliott do would be great!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

258 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 69%
African-American 14% 18%
Asian 5% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jennifer Mcfarlane
Fax number
  • (586) 574-9830

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13400 East 12 Mile Rd
Warren, MI 48088
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 439-4403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT