Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 503 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

We decided to do school of choice and chose Westwood. It was the right decision. We love the school. Our teacher is awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

We love this school! 2011-2012 school year begins a new era at Westwood with a new principal. She is very involved and seems genuinely interested to meet the students, families, and getting to know everything about the school. The office administrators are pleasant and helpful. We have been happy with all the teachers both my children have had. The teachers go above and beyond basic teaching requirements, helping with student council, annual talent shows, and after school events. The school has implemented the the Lucy Calkins writing program and Accelerated Reader program, which motivate the students and make these essential elementary skills fun. The PTC offers wonderful events each month, including Family Game Nights, and a school bowling program, that help cultivate a true school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

Westwood is filled with many caring teachers and parents. Though the principal could show a little more interest in the students, overall - the school is prepareing our kids for Middle school well. The parents for the most part are invovled though, I ahae been to a few PTC meetings and it is a shame that only 3-4 parents show up. And then they complain about the PTC. The PTC is a good group of hard working moms who do ALOT for our school, our children and our families. It will be interesting to see if anyone can step up and fill their shoes in 2009-2010 when there will be a whole new committee. Westwood Wildcats RULE!!!!


Posted October 5, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I have met many great educators, teachers and students. The teachers and staff really care about our kids. Many communicate via the internet, phone, notes, etc. I feel involved with my child'[s education. I don't want to know a conferences that there is a problemm, I want to know now and I feel theopen line of communication that the teachers and staff have with the parents allows for that. The PTC is a great group of parents. They do many wonderful things for our children, from family game night to the end of the year fun day, to helpng raise money for field trips and purchasing items needed in the class room. I would recommend Westwood to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

The principal cares, only about MEAP scores. The retention rate is very high which says alot about the teachers. The PTO is a tightknit clicky organization that is not open to suggestions. The worst thing about the school is the parking situation, with the principal nowhere in site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

Excellence educators, friendly staff. School District administrators seem to be more interested in money than best interest of students. (IE elimination of Young Fives program and 4 kids per seat on buses for middle & high school)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is our first month at Westwood Elementary but so far we have found it to include the parents as a learning partner; even though there is not much homework yet. I believe that homework shows the parents what the child is learning. I know it is early but it is really hard to find out what my daughter is learning if she is not bring home worksheets to be completed. There are many improvements that are being complete during this year, which should be done by Sept 2007 (i.e. new gym, lunchroom, library, media center). Westwood also has a Parent Teacher Club (PTC) that includes parent ideas and participation. Westwood offers music, art and gym but we were surprised that Spanish wasn't being offered. Our daughter went to a Centerline, MI kindergarten (Early Childhood Center), which had a spanish teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

If I could give this school six stars, I would. From the principal,to the staff, they do a great job. The teachers are extremely caring and up to date on recent techniques. What our children have learned so far, has greatly exceeded our expectations! I would recommend Westwood to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

We are happy at Westwood, Staffs are friendly, Parents volunteer and involved with school activities, and teachers work with parents. I don't have any problems dealing with them. My children doesn't want to move anywhere. I highly recommend Westwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
African-American 16% 18%
Asian 8% 3%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carey Crocker
Fax number
  • (586) 573-4813

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11999 Martin Rd
Warren, MI 48093
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 439-4406

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT