Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
This is my sons 2nd year here at Westwood. We recently after obtaining custody of my Step son enrolled him to Westwood as well. I must say my son is very active and has had his up and downs of focusing and paying attention. Our children have what you would recer to as all A's. Parents must also keep in mind it takes both the teachers and parents to work together to assure their kids success in and out of the classroom. Our teachers have goals as well as we do at home. The teachers here push the kids and are very forward with us. We also hold ourselves and our children accountable to their potential and classroom expectations. Overall the school is excellent. Open communication and hard work is a requirement for all arou d success. Its not easy making goals as it is not suppose to be. Thank you to the staff for being wonderrful. As far as any low reviews on here I think it has alot to do with parenting as much as it has to do with any teachers. My son picked on a kid on the bus I made him walk to the house and apologize. he never picked on anyone again. Parents need to take ownership of their childrens behavior and have a goal in place. The teachers do an excellent job at meeting the parents goals at school it is up to the parent to e press concern if there are any.

Westwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. White is an excellent teacher! Her experience shows. I have an immense amount of respect for Mrs. White as she holds kids accountable for their actions and their abilities for work.


Westwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The system they use to model positive and negative behavior has plenty glitches in its descriptions.

Westwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
A school system that is reactive but lacks the skill set and the ability to be pro-active.

Westwood Elementary School 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
First I must say in order to have excelling education you have to have order; to have order you must have have experience with those that can provide order. The teachers at this school lack the ability to have consistent order with their classrooms as well as lack the skill set to know how to stabilize behavioral children. Now you see why the school doesn't have any good reviews since 2013......umm. Think twice before you send your child their.


Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
We decided to do school of choice and chose Westwood. It was the right decision. We love the school. Our teacher is awesome!!!

Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
We love this school! 2011-2012 school year begins a new era at Westwood with a new principal. She is very involved and seems genuinely interested to meet the students, families, and getting to know everything about the school. The office administrators are pleasant and helpful. We have been happy with all the teachers both my children have had. The teachers go above and beyond basic teaching requirements, helping with student council, annual talent shows, and after school events. The school has implemented the the Lucy Calkins writing program and Accelerated Reader program, which motivate the students and make these essential elementary skills fun. The PTC offers wonderful events each month, including Family Game Nights, and a school bowling program, that help cultivate a true school community.

Westwood Elementary School 4

Posted December 09, 2008
- a community member
Westwood is filled with many caring teachers and parents. Though the principal could show a little more interest in the students, overall - the school is prepareing our kids for Middle school well. The parents for the most part are invovled though, I ahae been to a few PTC meetings and it is a shame that only 3-4 parents show up. And then they complain about the PTC. The PTC is a good group of hard working moms who do ALOT for our school, our children and our families. It will be interesting to see if anyone can step up and fill their shoes in 2009-2010 when there will be a whole new committee. Westwood Wildcats RULE!!!!


Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. I have met many great educators, teachers and students. The teachers and staff really care about our kids. Many communicate via the internet, phone, notes, etc. I feel involved with my child'[s education. I don't want to know a conferences that there is a problemm, I want to know now and I feel theopen line of communication that the teachers and staff have with the parents allows for that. The PTC is a great group of parents. They do many wonderful things for our children, from family game night to the end of the year fun day, to helpng raise money for field trips and purchasing items needed in the class room. I would recommend Westwood to any parent!

Westwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
The principal cares, only about MEAP scores. The retention rate is very high which says alot about the teachers. The PTO is a tightknit clicky organization that is not open to suggestions. The worst thing about the school is the parking situation, with the principal nowhere in site.

Nearby schools

Westwood Elementary School
11999 Martin Road, Warren, MI  48093
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (586) 439-4406
Last modified Westwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top