Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Regina High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Warren

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2007

I attended RHS from 2000-2004. Very good academically--I have attended Michigan State from 2004-present and have been on the Dean's List the entire time. I really owe it to the teachers and financial aid office administrators. Counseling staff: no. Myself and many of my friend experienced negativity coming from the counseling office (read: you will never be able to). All and all I loved RHS and the friends that I made there. We are all still very close, even not living in the same cities. Not much of an art program. If you are serious about art, RHS may not be best.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2006

My daughter is a sophmore at Regina and she loves it. She dosen't have to worry about boys and how she loks like because no one judges by how you wear because you all wear the same thing. The teachers are so nice. Even though you get alot of homework you learn something new everyday!This is the best school i could of put my daughter in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

This high school offers an unrivaled education for young women. The curriculum is rigorous and truly prepares the student for university level course work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2005

I am a sophomore in college and a former student of Regina. I think that RHS is the reason that I am doing so well in college. They prepared us for all of the hw and papers that we would have to write. I hated all of the hw at the time, but now that I'm in college, I have no problem; I think that I got more hw in high school than i do now. I loved the fact that I could get up 5 minutes before I had to leave for school to get ready, in fact, I think I miss my uniform the most! All of the teachers were ready and willing to help whenever they could. Attending Regina was one of the best things that could have happened to me, and I recommend it to anyone with a daughter.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 23, 2004

I Love Regina soo much. I could not think of a better school to go too, honestly! who would want to go to any other school. I was always nervous about my appearance and my weight. But here I felt accepted and did have to worry about boys, I could be myself. I just want to say thank you to regina high school. without them i don't think i would be who i am today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I am a former Reginite from the class of 2003. Regina is the best school for your daughter if you want her to be successful in the future. I've only been in college one week and for what's worth I must say that while ever one else around me was being overwhelmed about the homework and especially how to write papers, I succeed with no problem, because of my teachers at Regina prepared me for everything I needed to know. Well, almost everything I still wish I had to wear my uniform everyday, it would make getting up earlier a lot easier. So I wanted to say that if you have any doubts just go for a visit at the school and see for yourself what four years at the school did for me and can do for your daughter.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a great school. I went to Regina for all four years of high school and I loved it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

I'm a former student of Regina High School and will be majoring in Chemistry and Journalism and taking on three minors in mathmatics, physics, and biology during my college years. The staff was always there for me when I needed some help during my classes. If I was struggling I never felt afraid to ask for help. Many of the teachers I had were not only my teachers but I could consider them my friends. My teachers always understood and were always open to a discussion on what we thought. I would recommend this school to any parent looking for a place to send their daughter. It was the best place for me to grow into the person I am today. They taught me to set goals and that I can achieve them. Join all that you can and be involved and you will see that the staff is not just there to teach you but to help you with everyday stuff too. They lead the clubs and organizations and are always there when you need to talk. Great students, Great teachers, Great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

This is a wonderful all girl school... The Principal & Vice Principal are always ready to listen to the parents & students. They main aim is for your child to be a success. The teachers are there early in the morning & after school to also give help where help is needed.. The grade counselors help these young ladies through the grades to make the right decisions towards college..And by Junior year Sr Adele is going to get your child into the best college. The girls leave Regina with confidence & skills & knowing how to manage their time that enable them to handle any University or job market.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
African-American 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Ann Diamond
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (313) 526-5850

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13900 Masonic Boulevard
Warren, MI 48088
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 585-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sterling Heights Senior H.S.
Sterling Heights, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT