Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Schools

Private | PK-8 | 201 students

Our school is known for its strong academics

 

Living in Warren

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $93,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

The children thrive at this school. I would be reluctant to send my child to other schools in this area. I know most of the parents by sight and it is an excellent learning environment! The teachers are incredible and care about challenging the kids with making learning fun. The principal needs to be positive, a leader, and work more with the parents and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

We have been at IC for several years now and it is a great school. The parents and PTO is very involved and make a difference and really want to help the children. The small class size is wonderful! Would only change the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I grew up in the public schools, so it was difficult to send my children somewhere and pay for school. I love the multicultural Ukrainian and American integrated environment and believe that is extremely important for my children to learn and appreciate this. In our electronic age and world without borders, this school teaches traditional values (and cursive - so many schools don't teach this anymore!), with some electronics. The electronics can always improve as are always changing, but right now the school tries to provide a good balance between technology and values. I would recommend this school to parents in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

When we came to the United States, it was our dream to preserve our Ukrainian heritage while providing our children with the best education available. Without IC Schools, we would never have achieved our dream.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2014

Largest Class size is 24 :-) The priests, principal and teachers work hard to assure the children have a safe and highly motivating environment. It's understood that this is a Ukrainian Catholic school, and as such Ukrainian is a required 2nd language class. This is a great thing in today's diverse economy. Yet this school could be helped /grow if the administration /board would be more open to better balancing UK vs/ English activities such as school concerts, etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I grew up at public schools and couldn't imagine paying for my kids to go to school. But it's the best thing I could have done. My daughter loves her school...she has wonderful friends who share the same morals and values, and she has a very enhanced curriculum t hat includes Ukrainian and Religion classes. I know all the parents by name and enjoy various events throughout the year including a Halloween party and father/daughter dance. Everyone of my daughters teachers have been wonderful. I couldn't ask for a better atmosphere for my daughter. My only wish would be for the High School to reopen. I hate the idea of moving my child away from IC after 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My parents, cousins, aunts, uncles, and friends attended this outstanding private school, including myself. I am proud to say that history is repeating itself, and now my children attend. I couldn't be more proud of this fact. IC molded me into the person that I am today. I always came home with homework and positive challenges, and I participated in sports. It made me the hard-working and driven individual that I am today. Thank you to my second family! Be true to your school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Catholic, private school with focus on academics, and learning Ukrainian. Small class ratio allows focus and mastering of core skills. Added bonus students wear uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

A great school that not only teaches academics, but teaches responsibility, community service, and good citizenship. How many other schools do that these days?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We have only been at IC for 3 years however we feel IC is an amazing school. Our children have exceled academically and are reading two grades above their grade level. It has been an awesome experience for both our children and for us. We are extremely satisfied with the staff and feel very fortunate to have found IC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Immaculate Conception is a family, not just a school. My kids receive an excellent education in a warm and loving atmosphere where I know there are save and cared for. They are challenged not only to be great students, but better people. Teachers in every grade get to know all the kids and their parents. Parents are friendly to new families and quick to lend a hand with carpooling or study groups. Volunteering is highly encouraged both by teachers and the administration. You don't feel left in the dark about your child's progress or the status of school happenings. Even if you aren't Catholic, the school has so much to offer families who feel their students aren't getting the individualized attention they need or who feel, as parents, they aren't being listened to or don't have opportunities to share their talents. Teachers at IC spend their time TEACHING not doing administrative tasks or preparing for the next big test or count. It's all about the kids and their education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

School provides a great education in a religious environment with teachers who really care. Parental involvement is also incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Speaking as a grandmother of a student, I give the school 5 stars. In my opinion the students are doing work higher than there grade level. The school also encourages students to do extra curicular activities that make a well rounded child. AAA+++


Posted August 11, 2013

This establishment of learning exemplifies the standards that are required to keep our city, state & country in the forefront of education for the future, while establishing, in the students a level of understanding, knowledge, personal social security & basic family historic values.


Posted August 10, 2013

An amazing school with teachers who really care! My son will be here for several more years. The parents are very involved, and the school is academically challenging. It is worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

An excellent opportunity for a great education is here at this school. With strong community ties and parents who really care, yo u can't get better then this academically focused school. You don't have to be Ukrainian to fit in. Many different nationalities here all working together! Small classes make for an great learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

An awesome school with great community and family ties with a focus on academics. Very dedicated staff and teachers. I am not disappointed, and my son is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

An incredible school with great parental involvement and a close knit community. While other schools are closing, this one is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Great school with preschool to grade 8. I keep hoping though that the high school will return! Now over 200 children at the school. Definitely check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

Excellent school with great academics. This is my sons 4th year there and I highly recommend it. The parents care and are very involved! I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Russian
Ukrainian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Science Fair Winners (2013)
  • Science Fair Winners (2014)
  • Ste Handwriting Winner (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Ukrainian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Ukrainian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dianne Karpinsky
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • visit
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Ukrainian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Ukrainian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
201
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
205

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Ardiocesan Tuition Aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
DeLaSalle Collegiate
Regina High School
Bishop Foley H.S.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29500 Westbrook Ave
Warren, MI 48092
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 574-2480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Temple Christian Academy
Madison Heights, MI


Simonds Elementary School
Madison Heights, MI



Martin Luther School
Madison Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT