Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Macomb Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 160 students

Equipping students for leadership through Christ-centered education.
 
 

 

Living in Warren

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I am the person that posted back in February, and the only thing you did was clarify what I said, I never said that the comments were negative, I said that when someone posts something that you guys don't like, you become defensive. Like I said in my last post, everyone is entitled to their opinion and it's definitely not about going to the administrator with issues, it's about what I witnessed and experienced with my own eyes, and the behavior of a lot of the parents and children here at this particular school was not very Christian like at all. I've spoken with other parents whose children have been there for years, and they've since taken them out because of the same bad experiences that I encountered. It's not about going back and forth, this is a website for reviews, and opinions, I stated mine just like everyone else, and this just goes back to what I said before, everyone has a different experience and everyone has their own opinions, why am I continuously catching backlash, and negativity because of mine. You "Christian" parents will be in my continuous prayers. Be Blessed


Posted March 17, 2014

To the person who posted Feb 7th I wonder did you attempt to meet with the administrator or the person or people who offended you? And your right, whenever someone posts a negative then others do come back and post a positive because that is how they feel Just like you. That is their opinion. Im sorry you had such a bad experience here but this school has been a life saver for many. No school is perfect because no people are perfect. I just want to make sure you went thru the proper channels to make amends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

I just have to say that this has been a great year at Macomb Christian with the new superintendent. She has made a lot of great changes. We now have a chef that prepares lunches that are delicious and nutritious. We have a school store for the parents and students to browse, shop and hang out. We also started a thrift store that parents can volunteer in, shop for a great deal at, and drop off items to sell. Most importantly, our superintendent has a heart for the Lord, and loves on the students. We are so grateful we have our children at this school and can witness dedicated teachers that love the Lord, and pray daily for our students and their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

The new admin of this school claims to make it a better Christian place but seems to just be making the student life and school worse. The Christian life does not seem to be shown my multiple teachers and staff. Very judge mental
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

My 10th grade daughter and 8th grade son have been through both Christian and public schools. The previous Christian school experience sadly was worse than the public. So now I must say what is important to anyone who is looking for "the right" Christian school. MCS because of its staff, parents, and students have been what I have wanted for my kids since the beginning. Not big in size, but big in education, attention, and most important, spirit. Through years of working with kids, teens, and adults I can spot a phony a mile away. MCS's teachers and administrators are far from phony. The attention and care shown to my son has been humbling to me. This school is going in the right direction and I would recommend it your child and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

I attended Macomb Christian for the entirety of my High School education beginning in 2005 after trasnferring out of my local public school system. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there as it gave me many opportunities that I would not have recieved otherwise including individual attention, extracurricular opportunities, and spiritual training. The small class sizes, caring staff, and Christian environment helped me to grow academically as well as spiritually. After graduation, I attended Wayne State University on a full-tuition scholarship; an accomplishment I attribute directly to my time at MCS. I know as a fact that many of my peers were also awarded full scholarships at Wayne State, Lawrence Tech, Oakland University, and the University of Michigan. I am not saying that MCS is without fault and that there is no room for improvement. Any Christian should understand that sin exists and therefore no school is perfect. What I am saying is that MCS offered me invaluable opportunities that helped me to grow personally, academically, and spiritually.


Posted September 13, 2013

I began attending Macomb Christian when I was in 10th grade in 2007. I found an excellent community of people at Macomb and I not only met my best friend there, but also the love of my life, my husband. I have so many fond memories of the activities we had, spirit week, sports (I played soccer, softball and basketball), chapel band, and our year end trip to name a few. Academically, Macomb prepared me for entrance into the University of Michigan with it's college preparatory curriculum. I felt very confident with my college applications and was guided and helped the entire way by the guidance counselor at the time. Many of the teachers became great friends and mentors to me after graduation and for that I am very grateful. I was mentored and cultivated by these dedicated teachers. They give all they have every day to instill Biblical principles into their students and give them the best education possible. I would absolutely recommend Macomb Christian to anyone. It was a life-changing experience for me that I will not forget!


Posted August 31, 2013

When we were about to inquire in the school, my husband went in the school ahead of us. He parked in their parking lot waiting for me and my son. Since the staff do not recognize him and the car, and parked there in a while, they called the cops. Because of that, it made me thought that my son is safe in that school. My son became very comfortable in school, interactive with staff and other kids and excited to learn. At kindergarten, he is already reading story books to his classmates. As a bonus, he learned piano in 3 months in his Kindergarten year. He was able to play a piece in front of the elementary kids. I never thought that my timid boy will develop to that level after 3 years. The piano lesson is something that I requested and worked with the school for him to have. I am so thankful with how the staff of MCS caters to the need of their students and their family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

This is a great school that comes together as a strong community and cares about the children. The teachers are amazingly dedicated & we pray together and for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

My son has just begun his second year in the EEC Pre-K program. He struggles with a speech impediment however the EEC at MCS have been actively involved in assisting our family with encouraging my son to overcome this obstacle. It is very comforting that his teach Mrs. Constance and assisting staff are just as excited as we are for his continued progression of language and give me daily reports of progress. I am pleased thus far with MCS as long as my son continues to reap the benefit of a loving, faith re-enforcing and most importantly making education a great challenge to promote early EXCELLENCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Macomb Christian Schools has provided a educational and Christian foundation for our child that reflects the values and belief systems reflected in our home. The faculty & staff show personal care, compassion, and concern for students and their student's families which again reinforces what we try to instill in our child. Our child has confidence in the word of God, herself, and the education she receives at MCS. We are well pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My daughter is enrolled in the Early Childcare/ Preshcool program. I am extremely happy that our daughter has been able to attend the Early Childcare/ Preshcool program at MCS. She started in an early 3's class last fall. I cannot express how pleased we were with the development she has shown in the past year. Along with fundamental social and educational lessons, she has been taught Bibilical truths that have shaped her early development. The director for the Early Childcare/ Preschool program is amazingly wonderful and Godly woman! I cannot say enough about her and her leadership over the programs she oversees. My daughter adores her beyond words can say. My daughter is in her second year of the program attending a mix class of 3's and 4's. We are very excited to see her progress socially, educationlly, and spiritually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Our son Griffin has been going to Macomb Christian Schools for 2 years now. He started in the Early Education Program, which was incredible, and has now just started Kindergarten, where the individual attention he'll be receiving is worth all the money in the world. I can't tell you how much we love him going there, we're so looking forward to what the future holds for him at MCS. From the teachers to the office staff, we've had nothing but an excellent experience. They care about your child, they connect with him/her, there not just "a number" in the classroom. The family atmosphere is a huge plus, you feel like you have known everyone for years. The quality of education our son will be getting is going to be shaping his future and we can't think of any better hands to have him! I highly recommend Macomb Christian Schools!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

I have had two children at Macomb Christian School. The early education department is wonderful. Ms. Beck and the other teachers and aides provide a loving environment that teaches children the fundamentals. They treat the children like they are their own. They are quick to respond to special requests and the needs of not only the children but the parents as well. They are fun and creative and have developed a great learning environment. My kids love this school and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

My daughter attended preschool at Macomb Christian and is now in Kindergarten. I am very pleased with the experience she got in kindergarten and have heard excellent feedback about the kindergarten teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

This is our family's sixth year at Macomb Christian. I actually can't believe it's been six years! We LOVE our school!!! We know our children are getting the best education and we are constantly amazed at their achievements at MCS. Biblical truth is being taught and I think my children now know the Bible better than I do. ;-) Passion and sacrifice is clearly visible in the teachers. Our child in secondary loves every single teacher! They work hard to teach, create a Christian environment and make each child feel valued. Volunteers are welcomed like family and the school really appreciates every student and parent. We not only love our school. We feel loved by the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

This is our 4th year at MCS and we are so pleased at the education both academic and spiritual that our daughter has recieved. The smaller class size has allowed her to get the one on one attention that every child needs. The teachers have always had a vested interest in not only her education but her spiritual growth and well being. I volunteer in many different areas and feel that my help and opinion are valued. It definitely feels like family and we enjoy the time we spend there. This year we have enrolled our younger daughter in the preschool and we can't wait to see what fun and exciting things she will learn from the kind, caring, Christian staff. We know that each day she is there she learn not only her numbers and letter but about God and the love and salvation He has for her. We definately feel we have made the best decision for our family by sending our daughter to MCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

New leadership, new technology, new staff, along with dedicated Godly veteran teachers. All teachers properly certified. Teachers are enthusiastic and love to see their students learn. Our school year has already started and there was a secondary overnight fellowship for students and teachers in Port Huron. Great way to start off a positive experience at Macomb Christian Schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

My niece and nephew attend this school, and I can't say enough about how great it is! The blend of spiritual and academic growth that is taught is perfect. It s so exciting to see my niece and nephew and their friends learning so much. The effort behind the extracurricular and athletic programs are also very impressive. I'm also eager to see what positive changes the new superintendent will be bringing!


Posted August 24, 2013

I am an MCS alumnus, and here are, in my opinion, the two most important reasons to attend MCS. First and foremost, my time at MCS greatly furthered my relationship with Christ. Our instruction in theology and some of the works we read (Systematic Theology, Don't Waste Your Life) was excellent. Secondly, there is ample opportunity for your child to succeed in a multitude of areas. I graduated with a 3.98 GPA and was a triple varsity athlete. I was also able to serve on student and class council as well as drama club. If your child is willing to work hard and try their best, they will be able to build a resume that any college will love. Some may say that the education at this institution is subpar, however, that is just not true. Like any other school, your child will get out of it what they put into it. From MCS I was able to graduate from university with a 3.9 GPA and a degree in biology. Your child will get out of this education just what what they put into it. The difference is at MCS small class sizes will give your child the freedom to do almost anything they set out to. There is absolutely no way I would have been able to achieve all this at a public school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 71%
African-American 8% 20%
Multiracial 6% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. M. Baldwin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Religious
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (586) 751-7946

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
19
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
19

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28501 Lorraine
Warren, MI 48093
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 751-8980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Wolfe Middle School
Center Line, MI


Academy 21
Center Line, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT