Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Indian Hills Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
Snooty staff, unprofessional, they talk about students and private issues in front of other students, staff and parents that don't need to hear or know about personal things. They threaten to take away Valentine's Day parties from a kid who isn't writing fast enough due to having a broken thumb. They don't really imply IEPs very well.

Indian Hills Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
We are new to this school. I immediately felt comfortable. The principal goes above and beyond for his students, and his secretary does so much. My son really likes going to this school!


Indian Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
My son has attended Indian Hills for the last two grades. Mrs. Thompson and Mrs. Peters are great teachers. They have helped him so much through his work. I can see so much difference in his learning. The staff there is great. There are always there if the kids or parents need help.

Indian Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Mr. Smith is the most awesome principal. IH has great teachers and a family atmosphere.

Indian Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about her 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Carline. She is absolutely outstanding and my daughter just loves her and her new school! She attended a private school last year as well and we had an awful experience. I was very pleasantly surprised when she came here to Indian Hills. Mr. Smith, the principal, is very good at what he does and the staff are caring.


Indian Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has attended three schools in as many years, all in different states. As difficult as this can be, I have to say that my daughter loves going to school and being around the positive, motivating and caring staff at Indian Hills. It is very encouraging that the staff realizes that there is more to school than just teaching and homework. It is a very important social setting for our children and may I add their first real exposure to learning how to deal with varying situations. This exposure allows our children to learn from the choices they make and forms a strong foundation for the future. My daughter is now in third grade and loves going to school and learning new things. I would like to commend all the staff for their dedication, genuine caring, hard work and patience that they express each and every day. Thank You.

Indian Hills Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2006
- a parent
This is the first year my daughter has attended Indian Hills. She is in the 5th grade and came from a private school. They are in their 3rd Semester and I've seen very little to be happy about. Homework is minimal (about a half-hour per day, twice a week). This school seems more concerned about students social interactions than with teaching them what they need to know in math, science, social studies, etc. Every week the school has some type of assembly, guest speaker that doesn't teach much at all, and a fundraiser pressuring the parents to 'support' their kids. This public school is proving to be a joke! Learning is secondary to fun and fundraising at this school. I expect teachers to teach academics, not waste my child's time with filling the day with mindless activities and yet collect approximately $7,000 a head. My tax dollars are not well spent.

Indian Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
My first child started this year at Indian Hills, and to be honest I was hesitant about public schools in general and tossed around the idea of a private school. I have to tell you I was amazed with this school. It is a very family oriented school, the parent involvement is extremely high. The best part about the school is the outstanding principle he honestly treats all of us and our children like family. Every morning I drop my child off and he is outside greating the children and parents and wishing everybody a great day. The education so far has been awesome my son has scored high on his Gates test and I acredit that to his teacher. I have found my dream school and am so excited about sending all three of my children to Indian Hills.

Nearby schools

Indian Hills Elementary School
8401 29 Mile Road, Washington, MI  48095
(586) 752-0290
Last modified Indian Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top