Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 405 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

We have been at Washington for 5 years now, and it's great! The teachers are wonderful and the parents who volunteer are amazing. My kids always look forward to school because the PTO events, teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school is new to us this year and my daughter really has enjoyed it. We really could use the money to plan more events and better the equipment that is there. We came from a school with a beautiful computer lab. Something like that would really benefit the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This school is awesome! There is so much parent involvement. The principal has his performance rated by the parents/staff and really cares about being the best leader possible. There is a genuine interest for the well-being of each child. My son is thriving under the care of the teachers and administration of this school, both academically and socially. This school is one of the key factors that keep me living in this town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son attends Washington Elementary and we have been very happy with the teachers and staff. We look forward to the years ahead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers take a great interest in the students from preschool to high school. Even after the kids move on to middle or high school, the teachers ask about the kids are genuinely happy to see them. It truly is like having extended family. I have seen a greater commitment from the children, teachers and parents, and look forward to great things happen at Washington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We have been attending Washington for 4 years and the school has been great. It is a small community and with everyone helping and doing their share whether in the classroom or for larger events it really makes a huge difference. The teachers and staff are great. Our little school needs all the help it could get in a Michigan economy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school for our grandchildren to learn and grow. WONDERFUL teachers and staff.


Posted April 27, 2010

The principal, teachers and ladies in the front office are always there for the children. They always want whats best for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers are great and the kids are very proud of what they are accomplishing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The staff members at Washington elementary are EXCEPTIONAL! My Daughter has attended Washington elementary for 6 yrs which Includes 2 yrs of pre-school. She is and has been on the honor roll and received level 1 advanced status scoring on her MEAP tests in BOTH reading and mathematics. I have to say my daughter is definitely very bright, but I must extend credit to the teachers and other staff members that have helped her to excel and reach her potential. The incredible level of communication between teachers and parents is outstanding at Washington elementary. The Parent volunteers must also be given praise for the great role models they are and their tremendous dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers are incredible and really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers and parents are involved in making sure the kids can all get a great education in a friendly environment and that the kids have good examples to help them make good choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I like Washington Elementary because the staff cares about the success of both of my children! The staff also makes learning fun! My kids love to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers go above and beyond to help there students and to show they care about them. They have even come to sporting events, eaten lunch with the students as well. This is one of the older schools in RCS district and thank goodness it hasn't been closed. The parent volunteers here are terrific, they really try to make this school fun for the kids. I have just heard from a friend that in the fall the school is losing it's Phys Ed and Music program. That would truely be disappointing if it were to be true. This money could really come in handy to help keep our school educational as well as fun for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

There are wonderful teachers/principal/staff at Washington who all work together (with the parents) to help the kids do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Our school is totally committed to its students. The teachers are family, it is like a home-away-from-home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

I was forced to remove my children from a christian school with 3 weeks left of the 2006/2007 school year. The teachers and office workers have been extremely helpful and has made us feel comfortable. I wish I would have started them in Washington 7 years ago when we moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My child is in the 1st grade. I am very uphappy with this school and looking to change. The staff are crabby and rude. There is zero security in this school. We'll be moving out of there soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

My child went here for K & 1st grade. At first, I thought the school was great. After a while, you learn that the office workers and teachers are gossip mongers. The principal not only let this go on, but was part of it. The K teacher was more interested in my childs appearance/clothing than her school work. 1st grade tacher was much better, but she was new, hopefully that school doesn't ruin her. Extracurriculars were abundant, but nightmarish if you didn't get along with the right staff members or parents. School security is almost non-existent. My in-law (unknown to the school), walked the halls without 1 person saying a word. Changed my childs school and both my child and I are finally happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

The teachers and principal at Washington Elementary are very nice and approachable and willing to converse about your child at any time. However, the use of centers/groups/circles does not work with all children. Especially at the first grade level. Teachers use a group method to teach reading. Some children are in the group while others are left to 'study' on their own. This doesn't work with 6-yr olds with short attention spans. My now eighth grader has struggled in reading since the first grade. Groups and centers may be affective for intelligent children or those with parents who have hours to spend with thier kids, but it leaves the rest behind. Interestingly, almost all of my son's male friends have had trouble learning to read with this method. Studies conducted in England supports the claim that children do not learn well with centers/circles. England has stopped the use of that method.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
Hispanic 12% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. William Bock
Fax number
  • (586) 752-0470

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

58230 Van Dyke Rd
Washington, MI 48094
Phone: (586) 781-5563

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beacon Tree Elementary School
Shelby Township, MI


Crissman Elementary School
Shelby Township, MI


Morgan Elementary School
Shelby Township, MI


Richard J. Duncan Elementary
Shelby Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT