Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mason Middle School 1

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
I HATE THIS SCHOOL. The staff tells the kids to Shut Up.The kids are rude and think that they can say anything they want. This school is a joke to any people of color....

Mason Middle School 4

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is awesome compared to elementary for my daughter. The principal listens and takes care of things right away. The staff is warm and caring (the ones I talk to anyway). I like the office staff. With the changes going on this year, the communication is a bit slow, but they acknowledge it is a problem and have come up with solutions to fix this. The only reason I did not give five stars is getting rid of the teacher teams. My daughter has an IEP and with teams of teachers, it makes it difficult to communicate and what I need to know as a parent. The SRT teacher is awesome and acknowledges it is difficult not having teacher teams. The only other thing I can say is lack of parent involvement when it comes to the PTA. They are warm and not cliquey at all and would like help and listens to your suggestions. Only a few parents come to the meetings, which is sad. As a previous reviewer said, it is great, but anything is great compared to the elementary experience my daughter had in upper el. If you are considering moving to Mason Middle School, do it. If you have concerns, contact the principal. He is amazing.


Mason Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student at Mason Middle School and this school was horrible. Teachers were horrible. Nothing but a bunch of ghetto kids go here.

Mason Middle School 4

Posted November 03, 2011
- a community member
My family and I are planning on relocating to Waterford. Thanks for the comments they were helpful.

Mason Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2005
- a parent
I love this school. Teachers were always there for their students. My son personally struggled, but I always felt the teachers were there to back me up and encourage my child. This is one of the best schools in the district.


Mason Middle School 5

Posted November 27, 2004
- a student
Stevens T. Mason Middle School is an excellent school. Having attended it for 2 years, I should know! Mason has excellent staff, students, education system, and extra-curricular activities! I would highly reccomend it to any school-searching family due to its many high points. Overall, I think that Mason is the school to go to if you want an education that has safety, good teachers, and most importantly, an education system that is far beyond any I have ever seen!

Mason Middle School 4

Posted July 31, 2004
- a student
I am going into my 3rd year at mason, I think it is a great school in some ways but needs to improve in others. I think that the overall school is great its more of a community then a school. Teachers are great and help you with things that you don't understand by breaking it down step by step. There are also different levels of classes so you can learn at your own pace. They have many extra activitys not only for fun but to help all of Waterford. I think they need to improve more on teachers and students understanding each other instead of teachers acting as a higher power. I am proud of Mason and very happy I go there!

Mason Middle School 3

Posted June 16, 2004
- a student
Hi I'm a former student of Mason. I have to say the three years I spent there were horrible. There a lot of teasing goes on, but I guess thats how school is supposed to be. However the staff there was no help in any way. The counslors were never there to help you. The teachers would not even take a minute after class to listen to you. The higher staff and principal were more concerned about hall passes and Budget cuts than their own students. All of the staff seemed to be on the edge of walking out. The school bought new security cameras instead of pencils and paper that were really needed. But I cant say that every teacher was horrible because there were some that I have learned so much from. Oh and they seemed human too. Remember you cant hide from Mason pride because it's not there.


Mason Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2004
- a parent
I think Mason Middle School is exemplary. My daughter has attended here for 3 years. Teachers really care here. Her academic record, self-esteem and values have really grown. There is a lot of Parent-Teacher-Child involvement. Extra help is there for any student who needs it. It's more of a family feeling than a school - A family with structure. I really appreciate everything the school has done and what they stand for. They are always improving and are open to suggestions. There is a real spirit of cooperation here. I haven't been able to find that anywhere else. We have been lucky to be included in this school - It's true you, can't hide Mason pride!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mason Middle School
3835 West Walton Boulevard, Waterford Township, MI  48329
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (248) 674-2281
Last modified Mason Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top