Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waterford Kettering High School

Public | 9-12 | 1477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

Waterford Kettering High School: Great school, great teachers and staff. Trying to get into the school (as in the morning)? HORRIBLE! When are they going to do something about the entrance? This has been going on for years. If there were ever an incident at the school (God forbid) where an evacuation was required it would be pure chaos!! Parents would be fighting each other to get in with no way out, not to mention emergency services with the situation with the two lane entrance. Then, after dropping off your child at school, getting out is as much of an ordeal as getting in. I don't even encounter this much back up on Telegraph Rd!! I ask you, when in the world are you going to find a solution?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Waterford Kettering is slightly below average. I formerly attended this high school and went on to be a moderately successful engineer, but could not even get accepted at Michigan State with a 3.5 GPA and 26 on my ACT from this school. After some work am now going to UM Ann Arbor for my Master's. Their math and science classes were a mixed bag (some good teachers and some bad). The Language arts and history teachers were worthless. My foreign language classes (german) were great!


Posted October 8, 2012

Not impressed at all with Waterford School District. The middle school passed my child that was suspended 3/4 of the school year, half of which was consecutive. How do you pass a child that was not even in school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I would like to say thanks for the information good and bad to review. I'm in the middle of moving back downstate around the Waterford area and one of my biggest struggles is finding the right school that will fit my son's needs. This is his first year attending High School. He has a mild case of Autism and has a hard time remembering things. My only wish is that whatever school he attends I hope the teachers will be patient and give him the time and learning he deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

This school is the worst ever! the teachers teach you nothing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

I love waterford kettering schools. Great place for teaching and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I have 3 boys who have already gone through Waterford schools and my youngest just started at Kettering this year. I love Waterford Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Waterford Kettering is one of the greatest schools because of it's leader, Josh Wenning. He is a strong advocate for kids and welcomes kids and parents into his office for all reasons and at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

It is a really great school, my son attended for two year and then switched to mott, his grades really dropped. Mott's teachers were no where near as good as ketterings. At kettering my son said they are more hands on, and pay more attention to their students. And at mott they dont focus on each child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Great Kettering administrators, wonderful teachers who encourage their students of all levels of learning. Fantastic office staff who know their students. Terrific music program - don't eliminate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

I agree I to am paying over $300.00 to sylvan for reading help they should have been giving in the lower grades. They preach about diversity and getting along. Well when a teacher is throwing markers in the opposite direction of a student. Well what's wrong here. The teachers swear in the class rooms are special Educations kids are not getting the help they really need. Parents are trying to help avaicate for them and that hurts the student even more. Don't use the IEP's in the class room setting. You would be surprise what a special education student can do. It isn't all about who's the smartest. There are plenty of kids who are involved in sports outside of the school but do you see there name any where for what they do? No you don't. I will not stop fighting for my childs rights. One more year. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I have a graduating senior and a freshman attending Kettering. The senior is near the top of his class and the freshman has always struggled a bit. I'm happy to say they have offered assistance for kids at both ends of the spectrum. Kids (and parents) have plenty of opportunity for involvement. Unfortunately many parents can't/won't participate it seems, but the ones that do are a big asset to the school. I have only had one teacher that I (and my son) had a problem getting along with. Most of the teachers go that extra mile for the kids. Overall, I have found Kettering to be much better than I had originally expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

I have a daugther that graduated in 2006, and a son that is a sophomore at WKHS; I have to say that I have never felt disappointed, always teachers and the principals have been very supportative. Parents have to be the first key in their young persons life, work with the schools, keep tabs on their friends, grades, and keep them involved fully in something other than the IPod and texting. I have never felt ignored but then I would never allow that. WKHS has so many wonderful teachers and volunteers it is amazing, they care in fact I would say 95% of the teachers do far more then they are expected to do. WKHS has so many great programs for young people it truly blows my mind. They do care very much I would say more so then alot of high schools. I am more than happy and proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I have a daughter graduating from Kettering in 2008. I have been very pleased with the principal and almost all of her teachers. There have only been two teachers that I felt were not as strong as they could have been. My daughter has always gotten along well with her peers and the educators and staff. Anytime I have had a question, it has been answered and I do feel that the prinicpal in particular is very approachable with questions and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Like any high school today there are problems and certain kids who are more interested in bad habits than an education. However, my daughter is not one of them and I have been very pleased with her progress so far (she is a Junior). There have been a couple of teachers I wasn't thrilled with but most are good and quite dedicated. The principal and administration is involved and approachable. The key to me is that parents need to be involved. Not to an excessive level, but to be aware of what is going on with your own kids, what subjects they may be having difficulty in and how to get them extra help when needed. I have seen creative approaches to solving issues, such as challenge day and the seminar periods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

As a parent of a newly student, I am very disappointed about the school discipline inside the school. The teachers here only suspend the students schooling without detailed investigation to solve the problem. Parent of course is unable have sufficient information to know what has happened in school. The school principal and vice principals of course are not open to talk and assist parents when needed. The school and parents' relationship is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

I am a current student at Waterford Kettering, a Sophomore in the 2009 class. I would like to say that yes Kettering has its ups and downs, but so does every other school. I love Kettering and their is no where else I would want to be. No private school can teach me what Kettering is and has.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2006

I have a freshmen in this school and this year has been a struggle. Partly due to peer pressure and partly due to the enourmous amount of drugs and alcohol that is flowing thru not only the hallways but even drinking in the classrooms. Some students know right from wrong and some don't. The lack of teacher to parent involvment is void.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

As a newly 'single-parent' I feel somewhat intimidated or even judged by the parents who do volunteer! I cannot offer as much time as I would like to, nor can I constantly provide the money most events require! Most fundraisers are aimed at the parents pockets as well! In all, I feel somwhat disappointed in this school!-both socially and academically. In addition, I have also paid $400 monthly to Sylvan to compensate my son's lack of learning quality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Poor Poor Poor....Waterford Schools in general are a disgrace. There are no adademic programs. It is an osasis of trying to prompt kids to achieve high scores on various state wide test so the district can receive more state revenue. The children are not learning to think for themselves. I find it amazing that the population of Waterford is growing in leaps and bounds populaton wise and yet the public school had to close two elementary schools. The class of 1984 was larger than the class of 2003, this is repeating itself every year. I regret not keeping my child in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female19%
Male20%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities21%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female66%
Male45%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students22%
Female19%
Male26%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities24%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students38%
Female37%
Male39%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities42%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students47%
Female55%
Male39%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities50%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

86%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
Hispanic 6% 6%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Pierce Middle School
Mason Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jeff Frankowiak
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (248) 673-1778

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We have a part time valued volunteer coordinator who works directly with the school to coordinate all parent activities and volunteer efforts.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Pierce Middle School
Mason Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Michigan State
Central Michigan
Oakland Community College
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Kettering Drive
Waterford Township, MI 48329
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 673-1261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kingsley Montgomery School
Waterford Township, MI



Waterford Mott High School
Waterford Township, MI


Waterford Durant High School
Waterford Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT