Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
544 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 2

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
My experience with this school was that the children were quite clicky. It was a very difficult place to become assimilated. The academics kept one busy and in some cases were challenging. The social environment and the lack of effort/caring of the staff regarding certain issues was our biggest disappointment.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
I am grateful for all the students that I have crossed paths with at Our Lady of the Lakes. While I have been entrusted to teach them, it is they that give me perspectives on the world that have made me more compassionate and understanding. I love to witness the growth of goodness and the joy in learning that these children possess.


Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
They listen, plain and simple. That makes all the difference in the world. It makes you feel understood.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 4

Posted April 14, 2015
- a student
Our Lady of the Lakes is an amazing school. It is even better if you love sports and want a faith-based education. I have had a great experience at Lakes. There is sense of belonging to a big family. The only thing is some of the classes were not as challenging to me and was relearning a lot. I am also more artistic and do not care for sports so there are not really any programs for me. The only programs outside of sports are academic/leadership programs like Student Council and NHS, robotic, and band. I have been in Student Council and NJHS which was really rewarding and fun but they lack creative options.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
We decided to try OLL for a year while deciding whether / where to move. Our expereince in the first 2 months made it very easy to put roots down very close to the school. Today is the start of our 3rd year as part of the Laker family, and I couldn't be happier sending my kids there.


Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
I moved my son to this school half-way through kindergarten last year because I was not happy with the environment he was in. Someone said to me, "They grow them up too fast in public school.", and I couldn't agree more. At the time, I had an innocent 5 year old and I wanted to keep him that way for as long as possible. I have since been very pleased with the environment at Lakes. Education is very important, but so are the development of morals and character. There is a family atmosphere here and I am so glad I made the switch. If you are like me, and want to keep your child a child for as long as you can, I highly recommend Our Lady of the Lakes. They will provide quality education and assist in the development of young men and women with high standards of moral conduct and character.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter has been attending OLL for 4 years. She originally attended another private Christian school and she didn't want to go back after kindergarten, which to me is crazy because all kids love kindergarten. When we walked into OLL for our tour she looked at me and said "this is where I want to go, everyone is so nice here". Our home church is Lutheran and with that being said, I wasn't sure if there would be an issue of acceptance of our daughter coming from a different church while attending a school with the majority of the children being members of OLL. This was surely not the case and she has been accepted with open arms by the staff and her peers. I am sure this has been accomplished by the amazing efforts of the teachers, principals, and the overall good nature of the families. Academically our daughter has excelled in reading, writing and math and the teachers at OLL recognize all of their students accomplishments and help them in many ways to harness their abilities to learn. It has been an amazing 4 years and I wouldn't change a thing. Our Lady of the Lakes is an amazing school.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted March 17, 2012
- a community member
I transferred to OLL mid-year in 11th grade, which is not an ideal time to change schools, but I had gone through a horrible 1st semester at Clarkston H.S. (after moving from Ohio in August of that school year). How I wish I could have started at Lakes! The semester at Clarkston was awful; I had never been around such mean classmates in my life, and as a result, my grades dropped, and for the very 1st time, I hated going to school. My parents and I visited OLL to see what it was like, and felt it would be the perfect place for me to transfer. When I started school there, it truly was a perfect fit. The students noticed I was new and were very welcoming and nice to me. I remember a senior saying I had a nice smile and asking why I always walked with my binder hiding my face. Imagine that; a compliment! I hadn't realized it, but in that one semester at Clarkston, I was so used to kids telling me how ugly I was and making fun of my acne, that I tried to hide my face as much as possible and it had become routine. I am so grateful that my parents let me transfer to OLL, especially since they weren't making much money. I found that If you help your parish, they will help you!


Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
I have been a part of this community for over 25 years - with 3 kids that went to Lakes K-12 -graduating and moving on to college, often times I could not scrape two dimes together and the comment about being kicked out or tuition being raised by the priest is crazy - If anything the community goes above and beyond to help families stay at Lakes. I have also been involved not as a teacher but a parent and can tell you after being involved for 20 years while my children attended Lakes- teachers are toughest on their own children - I challenge you to find a private school (or a public for that matter) that does not have teacher's children in the school and in their class from time to time- I can tell you those teachers are some of the most vested and loyal educators. Our Lady of the Lakes helped me develop 3 great kids that are growing to be assets to society and our community.

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
This school provides a positive Christian environment, the teachers as well as the administration care deeply for the kids. The curriculum, while in line with Christian values, is well rounded and each child's skills are accounted for. The school community is so warm and wonderful, I have seen children thrive who may have not done so else where. I am not a teacher, but a parent who spent much time researching this school. I am also on campus 3 to 4 days a week. There are two kindergarten teachers, by the way, and they do a fabulous job, as well as every other teacher I have encountered in this school. Come take a tour of our school, don't believe a few bad reviews, contact our administration and bring your child to shadow our school for a day, see what they say about it instead. May God go with you...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School
5495 Dixie Highway, Waterford Township, MI  48329
(248) 623-0340
Last modified Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Our Lady Of The Lakes Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top