Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Schoolcraft Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 461 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2012

This is the second year at Schoolcraft for my children after Grayson closed. I think the staff is wonderful. My children are learning at their own level and I always get a prompt reply when I contact teachers. Sometimes the classes are large, but that's to be expected when the district has school closures. I feel that my children are very safe there. It's nice to know that people are not allowed to roam the building while the childen are in school, even at lunch and recess times. Any bullying concerns they bring up with staff are addressed immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

This school has a variety of good things going for it. My child started Fall 2011 in 2nd grade. Since then, I have noticed that hey have a number of programs for the children, a substantial library, and an orderly way about them. The bad part is the staff. I tried to visit my child at lunch, and was hurridly rushed out by the teacher, who proceeded to to eye me disapprovingly. The cafeteria staff were extremely rude, and although seats were available, did not allow me to sit with my child. The office remains yet to be useful, and has given me innacurate bus routes and vague instructions on how the buses are arranged. My child has also had bullying issues. I have called and confronted the teacher multiple times, with no results. There is little individual attention paid to the kids, and she "does not tolerate lying," and also plays favorites. My child is afraid to tell about the bullying because he knows she won't believe him. He has also been blamed for breaking things with no evidence or even background story, demanding we pay for it and none else (although other children have been involved in the stories told by my son and the teacher). I am very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Schoolcraft Elementary has some programs that are excellent as they adapt to the children's academic needs, and attempt to grow with each child's strengths. This is due to their experienced and caring teachers. (Hence Blue Ribbon awarding) What they are lacking is a caring and supportive principal. Consistently she has chosen economics over more effective strategies despite teacher and parent requests. The current principal (2010-2011) even suggested my child may best be served in a home-school environment rather than provide services or deal with bullying issues. I can say the classes are too full causing more chaos and too little individual attention. It is true as I read in another review, that there is too little staffing for such large class sizes. Although I LOVE the teachers and support staff, there is only so much that can be done without a caring and supportive principal. As an experienced and involved mother of 3 children; I would heartfully recommend that you carefully check all other options before settling for Schoolcraft Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

We've been pretty happy at Schoolcraft. We have 2 boys in lower El, so far the teachers have been great and the administration seems to be competent. They've improved the pick up and drop off procedure, teachers escort the kids to the cars instead of it being a free for all (which is what it was the first year we were there).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

Starting in Fall of 2010, this school got the short end of the stick when Waterford School District closed some schools and reorganized student levels. As a result, this school has about 50% more students than before. While I can't speak for what it was like before Fall of 2010, I can say that now there is too much chaos, too little individual attention, the bad kids are getting away with too much, and way too little staffing for such a bulk-warehouse of kids. I'm hoping for the best, but because of this situation, I would recommend people send their kids elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

Due to a move, my daughter was transferred here & was very nervous, as was I. She has a history of cornea ulcers & it has been a struggle to say the least in getting her two previous schools to cooperate in her care & work with us regarding this issue. In only the past couple months this school has shown so much support & compassion with my daughter & with us that I thank them from the bottom of my heart - especially the office staff - those women are the best! Also, because of my daughters injury & her self-consciousness her learning has suffered through the years - with the tremendous support & encouragement from the staff here, she is enjoying learning & doing very well. Thank you so much - this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

The staff and administrator at this elementary school are exemplary. The support for the students is unanimous amoung both sectors of employees. I truely feel that the only way to make this school more effective would be to get more parents involved with classes, teachers, PTA, and school specials. A few parents do a great job, but I truely believe this school would be one of the finest in the Waterford Area if more parents would take an active role with this quality elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I think the staff needs to know more about safety and basic first aid. My child has gotten injured twice at school and didn't receive the appropriate first aid. Overall, the staff is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Cheryl Pocius
Fax number
  • (248) 623-2635

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6400 Maceday Dr
Waterford, MI 48329
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 623-6211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Stephen Lutheran School
Waterford Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT