Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mason Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1260 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I am putting above average as we just started there. Honestly, with how awful my daughter's experience was in elementary, this is fantastic in comparison. The principal is helpful to me and listens. I love the Mistar system and the teacher team communication especially my daughter's SRT teacher. It is good so far, but we've only been there a few months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

I am a former student at Mason Middle School and this school was horrible. Teachers were horrible. Nothing but a bunch of ghetto kids go here.


Posted November 3, 2011

My family and I are planning on relocating to Waterford. Thanks for the comments they were helpful.


Posted May 5, 2005

I love this school. Teachers were always there for their students. My son personally struggled, but I always felt the teachers were there to back me up and encourage my child. This is one of the best schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

Stevens T. Mason Middle School is an excellent school. Having attended it for 2 years, I should know! Mason has excellent staff, students, education system, and extra-curricular activities! I would highly reccomend it to any school-searching family due to its many high points. Overall, I think that Mason is the school to go to if you want an education that has safety, good teachers, and most importantly, an education system that is far beyond any I have ever seen!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2004

I am going into my 3rd year at mason, I think it is a great school in some ways but needs to improve in others. I think that the overall school is great its more of a community then a school. Teachers are great and help you with things that you don't understand by breaking it down step by step. There are also different levels of classes so you can learn at your own pace. They have many extra activitys not only for fun but to help all of Waterford. I think they need to improve more on teachers and students understanding each other instead of teachers acting as a higher power. I am proud of Mason and very happy I go there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2004

Hi I'm a former student of Mason. I have to say the three years I spent there were horrible. There a lot of teasing goes on, but I guess thats how school is supposed to be. However the staff there was no help in any way. The counslors were never there to help you. The teachers would not even take a minute after class to listen to you. The higher staff and principal were more concerned about hall passes and Budget cuts than their own students. All of the staff seemed to be on the edge of walking out. The school bought new security cameras instead of pencils and paper that were really needed. But I cant say that every teacher was horrible because there were some that I have learned so much from. Oh and they seemed human too. Remember you cant hide from Mason pride because it's not there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2004

I think Mason Middle School is exemplary. My daughter has attended here for 3 years. Teachers really care here. Her academic record, self-esteem and values have really grown. There is a lot of Parent-Teacher-Child involvement. Extra help is there for any student who needs it. It's more of a family feeling than a school - A family with structure. I really appreciate everything the school has done and what they stand for. They are always improving and are open to suggestions. There is a real spirit of cooperation here. I haven't been able to find that anywhere else. We have been lucky to be included in this school - It's true you, can't hide Mason pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

369 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

380 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 69%
African-American 12% 18%
Hispanic 12% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Roger Opsommer
Fax number
  • (248) 673-3718

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3835 West Walton Blvd
Waterford, MI 48329
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 674-2281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Academy Of Waterford
Waterford, MI


St Stephen Lutheran School
Waterford Township, MI




Pierce Middle School
Waterford, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT