Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wayne Memorial High School

Public | 8-12 | 1756 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

My school is the best g\high school in Wayne Westland. We have amazing teachers that care about each and everyone of us! They are there when we need someone to talk to, or to push us because they know we can do better. Did I mention we have a program called champions that pays you $200 if you meet a certain GPA. Wayne Memorial is a great high school, I am lucky to say that I have spent my full four years of high school at Wayne Memorial with loving administrators, teachers, and also kids. SUCCESS IS THE ONLY OPTION WE HAVE WAYNE PRIDE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2012

Love this school! Teachers & staff are there for the students. Will recommend it to all.


Posted January 22, 2010

Wayne Memorial High School is a great school, they offer many AP courses and provide teachers who can actually teach you better than college professors can. Though some may say they water down the curriculum for certain students I believe that the school recognizes those who want to be in school and try their hardest and provide aid needed to help those kids. The school became a little strict after a principle left a couple years ago but it did allow for more kids to be in class and not in the halls skipping class. Overall I would recommend the school as a public school. It is clean, safe, and though controversial to students well ran school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2009

I absolutely loved this school when i graduated in 2007. I was a pregnant student and I was strugaling. They helped me get on the right track and gave me a great education. They care about the students and they want what is best for them. Our problem is not in the teaching facility it is in the students who are just there for social reasons. They dont give up on students and i really love this school! I wish i was still there
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2008

i love wayne memorial high school. i attend there right now as a junior.(class of '09) It really is a good school. The only problem is, is that there are way too many kids not on the right track, or joining any type of sports. There is so much potential in this school, but many of them don't come out. The teachers may even sometimes act like they care about you, but in reality THEY DON'T. The principal is terrible. I understand some of the rules that he lays down, but some of them are too extreme and pointless. He often makes it not as fun to go to school. I'm happy he is soon leaving after this year. Maybe we may find more kids motivated to school. Wayne Memorial is a good school and I love it; I just wish that a few changes were made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2007

I am a senior at wayne memorial, class of 2008. I personally think that wayne is one great school. I take advantage of everything at wayne, including sports, clubs, and academics. Teachers are great and helpful and the councelers really know what they are saying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

I am a former wayne memorial student and I just have to say that I couldn't have been more eager to get out of that place. I wouldn't even have given it one star if it wouldn't have been for the few good teahers I had. I did have a lot of friends and was never in trouble, but a lot of what I learned while in school, I taught myself. I hardly had to put forth any effort and I graduated with a 4.3. I did have a few really good teachers and my counselor was great, however there is a definite need for improvement.


Posted September 1, 2005

My Freshman and Junior Daughters just enrolled at Wayne Memorial High School. We absolutley LOVE this school, the people, the instructors, and the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

I attend wayne memorial high school now and there i am a freshman, i had gone to catholic school all my life and this year i transferred into a public school, it was the biggest decision ever and it was the best i could have made. There you experience the real world and what goes on sure there may be some bad stuff that happen like food fights but its just kids being kids, and thats what we are. For someone as young as me and someone who has never really experieced the real world like this before it is different but its not bad. The teachers care about you and your future and to me i think that, that is very important. there i am an honor roll student and i wouldn't have been an honor roll student if it weren't for the teachers. GO ZEBRAS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2004

When I went to Wayne there were teachers that cared about their students. I see know that know they just want them to get out. I see teachers that give full credit to a student that did the homework all wrong. But since they did the corections in class then they got full credit. If our teachers don't care about our kid than who but us can. When we question about our childrens grades we are told, its ok they there still passing. I believe some teachers need to start caring about out our children the same they would about theirs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2004

I was a student at WMHS through 1986. Now my sons attend. The quality of education and discipline has gone drastically downhill. The most dramatically affected area, I believe, is the vocal music program. Too bad Ms. Schuler-Gleason retired. Nowadays nobody believes that WMHS ever had decent choirs. Too bad, really. They were top-ranked in the state when she was still teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I had an awsome time at wayne memorial high school. The teachers were great my personal favorite (Mrs. Vaughn, and Mr. Rowland.) It is a great school to go to.


Posted September 9, 2003

Had a foreign exchange student that went here and also had children go to Glenn. This school is outstanding for the arts. Loved the music program and the dance program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I really like my school and the teachers there are great, they get in touch with their students and that helps the students to work better! They make sure the students are working in a safe and clean enviroment. The parents are involved also.


Posted May 6, 2003

I was a student at WMHS from 1987/1988-1990, and I had nothing but positive experiences when I was there! The teachers were competent and creative, the principals (Mr. Winters and Mr. Stratton) were friendly and effective, the curriculum choices were diverse and interesting, the parents were very involved in helping out and supporting the programs, and the extracurricular and athletic programs were also diverse and a great learning experience. I don't have one bad thing to say about WMHS except that it was a shame when the milage did not pass the year after I left, leaving our school at its bare bones. I would be teaching at WMHS today if Michigan had my Florida weather!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

539 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

366 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

368 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

366 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students12%
Female10%
Male15%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities2%
Students without disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female47%
Male45%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students16%
Female11%
Male22%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students27%
Female20%
Male35%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students40%
Female41%
Male39%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 69%
African-American 30% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kevin Weber
Fax number
  • (734) 595-2227

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3001 4th Street
Wayne, MI 48184
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 419-2206

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Wayne, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT