Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walnut Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 980 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2012

Academically the school is great, concerns are that issues brought up by students and parents are not addressed but seem to always get dismissed.


Posted September 2, 2008

My autistic son is going in 8th grade this year, and his brother in 6th. I've found this school to be top of the line for help, resources, and I love the SNAP program that teach mainstream kids to understand about special needs kids. Everyone gets a win-win from this type of environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

My last one has just finished here. Good experiences. If I had filled this survey out 7 months ago, it would have been different. They have gotten a new VP, Mrs. Rendi who seemed to change the mood of the entire school. She was able to get the principal to loosen up some. Kids love her. Too bad the bad apple she replaced is going on to Northern. Teachers have been encouraging and caring. Will miss this school but love Northern so all is well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I came from W. Bloomfield to Walled Lake. They made transition smooth by finding out what the child likes, what he needs for support, and what courses he needed to fill for that grade. So from 6th and 7th grade (this year) I only have high praise. Bob B from AI works wonders with special needs children (My son is Autistic).There is LapTop Program|SNAP|Summer School all there to help. (AI Resources needs donation of a treadmill to continue special requirements for the kids, if you want to get a tax write off). So I don't understand why anyone would write negative about such an excellent school! But it does take PARENT involvement (only you know your child best), they will do their best on their end to make it a WIN|WIN situation for all. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I can't believe that there were negative comments associated with this school. My son just completed 7th grade and has grown leaps and bounds academically. There are those teachers better than others, but overall I have no complaints. The english curriculum( especially Mrs Graham) at this school is remarkable; not only teaching grammar and sentence structure but emphasis on descriptive and detailed essays. The band teacher is superior as well. There is not a great deal of parental involvement here- but this is a Middle School-not an elementary school. Kudos to the way they keep parents informed.....Progress reports are sent home regularly. I am very please with Walnut Creek and quite honestly am surprised at some of the negative commentaries above. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

My children have attended Walnut Creek, and did exceptionally well here. The staff and administration go overboard to keep parents informed of student progress. The vocal music program at Walnut Creek is a joy to have my children in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

I had a student sail through this school, not because she has high academic quality, just middle of the road. She was a rule follower and had anxiety levels and teachers that were able to achieve success. I am sure there are many good teachers in the building but there is something wrong at this school. If you do not have a child that does not fit the mold then you are out of luck. I have talked to many employees of the district, administrators of the district, and parents from many present and past years. I hear nothing but negative, especially about the principal, Joan Heinz. I have never had a problem with any teacher in the district (PLE) I wish I could say the same for this boot camp and can't wait for high school. My daughter loves Central H.S. and claims WNC are way overboard. Unhappy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

The benchmark system is not acceptable. It's geared for the meaps and not the students learning level. The school dosen't care about the children only about the benchmark scores and meap scores. They need to teach test taking and studying techniques not the gestapo style of no going to your locker if you forget something and nothing to eat if your hungry. This should be a place of learning not a mititary prison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2003

Overall the school is a nice school. Most of the teachers appear to be supportive and caring to the students. The principal needs to be aware that subtle bullying does occur in her school. She also needs to worry less about the physical appearance of her school and more about the well being of all of her students. The school has some really positive potential and some really good staff and they need more say in the way things are handled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

297 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 69%
African-American 13% 18%
Asian 7% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sophia Lafayette
Fax number
  • (248) 956-2405

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7601 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield Township, MI 48323
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 956-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clifford H. Smart Middle School
Commerce Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT