Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Excellent Middle School Program with a real desire to help children grow and learn. A great place to learn.

Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Love It!!!! My daughter made a very easy transition from elementary to middle school and love the programs that are in place moving forward. The staffing and teachers are quick to responding to any questions and principal is aswsome.


Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a community member
I'm a 8th grader here at olms and I have to say I love this school. The teachers love and care for all the students the staff is great. I love the many programs this school has. I'm very sad to say that this is my last year at olms

Orchard Lake Middle School 1

Posted August 03, 2012
- a community member
There are no advanced programs for gifted children except in math. Smart students are never challenged and can get good grades without putting forth any effort. It does not prepare students for future academic challenges and there are many exclusive cliques that make shy students feel lonely.

Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
I must say I was afaird to send my daughter to olms but I am happy to say that Mrs. James and the staff goes above and beyond the call for her as a student.I love this school


Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a community member
Your child will always feel at home in this school. Its very diverse lots of arts programs, and classes. One of the best schools out there!

Orchard Lake Middle School 3

Posted April 03, 2010
- a student
I graduated OLMS in June 2009. As mentioned below, it is indeed a school with diversity. How well a student does depends a lot on the student. OLMS has great learning oppurtunities, most teachers teach really well and the content is in-depth and good. Teachers attempt to enforce hard work on the students, but after a certain point it is totally up to the student. If you take complete charge of your academics and strive to excel, you will find that OLMS is not really hard. However, it prepares you greatly for high school. If you take advantage of all the good oppurtunities in OLMS, high school is going to be very easy.

Orchard Lake Middle School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2009
- a student
So im going to be honest-- olms is a school with great diversity. The school is yes very overpopulated and unfortunately 8 teachers have been laid off. I am an 8th grader who believes that the school has given me everything there is to offer a middle school student. The fine arts programs are an extremely proud accomplishment!! if you are considering orchard lake middle school please keep in mind that the school has many many children but has the typical middle school experience.


Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2008
- a student
I will graduate OLMS this week! I loved the school and throughly enjoyed every aspect of the fine arts program, and all of my academics. I had various teachers that I know will be unforgetable. OLMS is the place to be when it comes to succeeding. I will throughly miss this school but I am so thankful that I was a part of it for the last three years.

Orchard Lake Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
This is a very solid school. Principal leadership is excellent. A few teachers are not as good as others and seem to be biding their time but many of the teachers are outstanding and highly motivated. Student environment has improved under current administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orchard Lake Middle School
6000 Orchard Lake Road, West Bloomfield Township, MI  48322
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (248) 865-4480
Last modified Orchard Lake Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top