Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
West Bloomfield Township, MI
Students enrolled: 1,686
Before care: No
After care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Bloomfield High School 2

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
I have one child that went to West Bloomfield and a second that went to the International Academy. The contrast couldn't be greater. West Bloomfield had an excellent high school in the 1990's. It is not even average anymore. Don't take my word for it, check it's ranking on US News compared to Troy, Bloomfield Hills etc. WB is not even ranked. College readiness index 38.1%. By contrast Troy is 58.3%, Rochester Adams 49.1%, IA 100%. It is truly sad considering the level of funding and poor performance. This district needs a turn around which doesn't seem to be coming. I like West Bloomfield but would count on sending my student elsewhere for High School. Finally, the primary schools are excellent which is a further indictment of the High School.
1 person found this helpful

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved into and lived in West Blomfield for almost 10 years for a particular reason, that was for our 2 kids to attend and graduated from West Bloomfield High School. Both kids went on to a great Ive League university after graduation. During those years, we interacted extensively with their teachers and principles. In our humble views, WBHS offers a unique and highly challenged learning and extracurriculum environment to our kids. We believe that WBHS is one of best high schools in Oakland County of Michigan, and we highly recommend it to other parents who want an excellent education for their kids.
1 person found this helpful


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
We are the parents of three students- one who has previously attended WBHS, and two current students. From our former student, who is an "average to below average" student, we know that staff and teachers are outstanding, and students leave this institution well prepared. From our current students, we know that the school is disciplined and well-run, culturally diverse and tolerant, and responsive to parent inquiries. Administration,especially the principal and athletic director, are very effective and in touch with students and building culture. What a great school!

West Bloomfield High School 4

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
We have two students who attend WBHS. Our experiences have been indicative of those in the real world...1) Teachers who underestimated our son due to his outward appearance who quickly acknowledged his drive and determination to succeed, 2) Administration/staff who addresses parents' concerns in a timely manner, 3) A curriculum that is challenging and full of varied courses in many disciplines (As an educator, this was of utmost importance to me), and 4) A student population that is culturally diverse. The teaching staff is not very diverse, therefore; perceived stereotypes prevent some teachers from treating all students equally (This is district wide not just at the high school). Some students are encouraged to take Honors/AP classes, whereas, others must petition to do so, some are encouraged to engage in athletics, and so forth. Nevertheless, we have encountered some teachers that are absolutely doing what they love...teach. Our children have walked away with valuable lessons due to both positive & not so positive encounters with teachers. We are a school of choice family driving from northern Oakland county; we know our kids are an asset to WBHS in more ways than one.

West Bloomfield High School 3

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
Been in district for 15 years and have seen this school slide from one of the best to an overspending establishment that has destroyed a good thing. There are so many issues at the school that are swept under the carpet. Racial tensions and drugs are at the top of the list. Focust has switched to the out of district kids vs the in district kids. Teachers complaining about their salaries...upwards towards 90k a year. Most of these kids are just passed through the system because they are just a means to get additional funding from the state. to


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted September 05, 2010
- a parent
My son and I very happy and cant wait to start 9th grade ,great school, clean , great staff and great drama and sport activities

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted December 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
Wonderful staff, Great opportunities, Great environment!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Bloomfield High School
4925 Orchard Lake Road, West Bloomfield Township, MI  48323
(248) 865-6720
Last modified West Bloomfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Bloomfield High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top