Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
The school itself is large and incredibly layered. There can be found many different communities within the high school. Basically any student can find their niche here, and I am confident saying that. I personally was a theatre kid, and the theatre community I found at WBHS couldn't possibly be replicated anywhere else. Recently, the school has been through ups and downs, but has nevertheless remained upbeat and lively. That is something that can be credited to the wonderful people that work at WBHS.

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I have two kids. The oldest graduated from WBHS a few years ago and the youngest is there now. They're two totally different students. Both had/have very positive experiences. The oldest is attending a university in Michigan and was well prepared for college, not just with AP classes, but the regular science curriculum made undergrad science a "breeze". My youngest is enjoying all the opportunities the high school has to offer. There seems to be something there for everyone; from band, choir, theater, many sports to even more clubs. Both of my kids had some teachers that really motivated them to think "outside the box". EXCELLENT counselor(s)! The young administration is innovative and easily accessible to the students (and parents). Diverse student population. I would encourage anyone looking at high schools to tour WBHS before making a decision based on what others say.


West Bloomfield High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Lisa Thompkins is an EXCELLENT counselor. Not only is she extremely knowledgeable and addresses any concerns. She seems to be calm about any situation (big or small) that comes her way. It doesn't matter what type of students, she makes time for all of them. I am grateful that both my students had/have a dedicated counselor and someone they can always talk to about anything.

West Bloomfield High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
As with all schools some teachers are better than others. West Bloomfield has a number of quality teachers that seem to really love to teach and spark interest in the students. I've seen teachers make my own kids see their real potential. Others have pushed my kids to work harder and really stretch. There are always a few teachers that are just nice or don't add much. But these are few and far between.

West Bloomfield High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
This school uses blocked scheduling. Students do not necessarily have the same classes every day. Therefore homework assigned one day may not be due for two days. This really helps students learn to manage and prioritize their time. It's also a great way to prepare for a college schedule.


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
I have seen nothing but great things from this high school! WB has more AP classes than any high school in the state. Offerings and technology are the very best, principals are amazing.

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
I have two students currently at West Bloomfield High School and couldn't be happier with the curriculum, teachers, and administration. Any school is what your kids make of it. My senior considered going to the International Academy and is very grateful to have attended West Bloomfield. She has had countless opportunities at leadership positions, rigorous courses, and clubs, such as teen court, where students are able to observe cases and interact with the district court judge. She will be attending a prestigious university in the fall and has an impressive resume to bring to the table thanks to West Bloomfield High School. Mr. Watson is an extremely dedicated principal and is admired not only by the staff, but the students love him as well. I highly recommend West Bloomfield High School to any parent or student who is seeking advice.

West Bloomfield High School 2

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
I have one child that went to West Bloomfield and a second that went to the International Academy. The contrast couldn't be greater. West Bloomfield had an excellent high school in the 1990's. It is not even average anymore. Don't take my word for it, check it's ranking on US News compared to Troy, Bloomfield Hills etc. WB is not even ranked. College readiness index 38.1%. By contrast Troy is 58.3%, Rochester Adams 49.1%, IA 100%. It is truly sad considering the level of funding and poor performance. This district needs a turn around which doesn't seem to be coming. I like West Bloomfield but would count on sending my student elsewhere for High School. Finally, the primary schools are excellent which is a further indictment of the High School.


West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved into and lived in West Blomfield for almost 10 years for a particular reason, that was for our 2 kids to attend and graduated from West Bloomfield High School. Both kids went on to a great Ive League university after graduation. During those years, we interacted extensively with their teachers and principles. In our humble views, WBHS offers a unique and highly challenged learning and extracurriculum environment to our kids. We believe that WBHS is one of best high schools in Oakland County of Michigan, and we highly recommend it to other parents who want an excellent education for their kids.

West Bloomfield High School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
We are the parents of three students- one who has previously attended WBHS, and two current students. From our former student, who is an "average to below average" student, we know that staff and teachers are outstanding, and students leave this institution well prepared. From our current students, we know that the school is disciplined and well-run, culturally diverse and tolerant, and responsive to parent inquiries. Administration,especially the principal and athletic director, are very effective and in touch with students and building culture. What a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Bloomfield High School
4925 Orchard Lake Road, West Bloomfield Township, MI  48323
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (248) 865-6720
Last modified West Bloomfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top