Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scotch Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
Amazing school! Teachers and curriculum are top notch. I am so glad that we chose this district to send our children to vs neighboring schools. Very impressive!

Scotch Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Caplan was a terrific teacher for one of my daughters. I cannot say enough positive things about her! We loved her!


Scotch Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
My daughter spent at least an hour nightly on homework, usually more like 1.5-2 hours. Plus she had weekend homework. (in 3rd grade)

Scotch Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
No, I feel it frustrates students who struggle academically, but not behavior-wise. My child's academic issues were mostly ignored because teachers were so busy dealing with behavior issues in other children.

Scotch Elementary School 2

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
I have two children, one who attended this school for 2nd grade only and one who attended for 2nd and 3rd grade only. We have now moved out of state. For the child who attended for one year (a stronger student), this school was fine. For my other child, this school did not work well for her at all. She's now improving in her new school, but has had to be pulled out for special spelling assistance because she was not taught any spelling through 3rd grade. This has not only helped her spelling tremendously, but it's also helped her reading. Math is going better and homework in her new school is no longer a 2 hour battle every night. She's learning cursive now, which has helped her writing, in general, flourish. I thought we were in a good district in West Bloomfield, but I have since learned we really were not. My child's learning difficulties (outside reading, but only to a degree) were ignored at this school.


Scotch Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Where shall I begin Lack of communication, clueless principal, 90 percent of teachers that don't want to do their job. I am so glad I switched to the Walled Lake District for middle school. I can't believe I was with West Bloomfield for this long.

Scotch Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
My child had a fantastic four years at Scotch. The teachers were caring and very skilled. There were terrific programming and activities. It has a very strong PTO -- parents really support this school and turn out for everything. We loved the new principal and found him outgoing and easy to work with.

Scotch Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
This is the second year my sons have attended and I am happy overall with the education they are receiving. The teachers are dedicated and available to address any concerns. I do feel as if the principal is clueless about his role as a leader and he allows too many chances for those students who are disruptive to the educational process. Also, I think the late start and dismissal times are ridiculous especially for elementary school children.


Scotch Elementary School 3

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are awesome. The new prinicipal lacks leadership and communication skills. There is poor decision making and no oversight in the classroom. Bullying is out of control. The environment is unsafe and not conducive to learning.

Scotch Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
I agree with previous person... School is amazing, teachers are professional. my both children went there and got amazing experience...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scotch Elementary School
5959 Commerce Road, West Bloomfield Township, MI  48324
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (248) 865-3280
Last modified Scotch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 2-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top