Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Private
West Bloomfield Township, MI
Students enrolled: 84
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 2

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
The quality of education varies depending on the teacher. We have had excellent teachers and also horrible teachers who are super negative or neglect kids who are super intelligent. Some teachers are "fussy old ladies", constantly nagging about petty things. Others are natural teachers. The after school program is great. The kids love it. The material and homework vary by teacher so the kids may be learning the same material for two years in a row or may be missing things so parent involvement is crucial. They spend several years memorizing phonic rules (lower school) but never on application or using it in a sentence until they are much older (2-3 years later- maybe it is again dependent on the teacher?) However, they are expected to do a high level of comprehension and writing without really learning about sentence structure. Also some rules are simply not necessary like the sounds of "u". The math curriculum seems to cover the basics at the beginning and end of the year. Wish it was more systematic: start with the basics first and then application rather than application then basics. For the high price, I would expect more consistency in the quality of teachers & less whining!

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
Brookfield Academy is wonderful! The staff, teachers and Ms. Lisa are awesome! Our two children have thrived at Brookfield Academy. We could not have asked for a more caring, thoughtful and educated group of staff and teachers. Many of the teachers have years of experience and are dedicated to individualizing learning plans to met each child's needs. My oldest who would complain about "hating" school, loves going to school every morning now. Thank you Brookfield for being such a great school!


Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 1

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
Not the same since the change in owners. Falling enrollment. Principal and teacher turnover. Materials and lessons vary by teacher. No unified curriculum across classes. Math relegated to independent learning in elementary classes. Enrichment classes reinstated only after meetings with parent company management after being eliminated last year. Stanford test eliminated.

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2009
- a parent
My child started 2 years ago and has gained so much from learning how to read since she was 3 1/2 to learning how to become an independent thinker at a young age. The academics are exceptional!!! Brookfield really follows the true Montessori Approach. Not all Montessori's are the same. My daughter has a 'love of learning' thanks to Brookfield.


Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 5

Posted December 06, 2008
- a student
This school is awesome! i love it soooo much. i've been there for six years and last year i graduated. Now my sister goes there, so i can visit all my old teachers.

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 0
no rating

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 kids there and they are doing great. I like the focused attention and the small nature of the classrooms.

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been at Brookfield since age 3. After two years, she is reading at a second grade level, working with Montessori materials to divide and multiply, and is happy to go to school every day. The teachers in the preparatory classes were excellent. The three teacher team she had for the two previous years were amazingly kind, involved, genuine, concerned and energetic. Even though there can be administrative issues from time to time, the academics and the things the child deals with from day to day are superior. The school may lack a little in terms of physical education, but I supplement by signing her up for after school programs that are offered through the school and locally.


Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
my son has been attending wb brookfield since he was three. he loves it there! his teacher is great and he was reading by age 4 (only going to school 1/2 day)!!! we could not be happier! we are moving out of state and we only hope we can find a school like brookfield! A+++

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield 5

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
It's a great school. The teachers are very friendly and the environment is great for kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield
2965 Walnut Lake Road, West Bloomfield Township, MI  48323
(248) 626-6665
Last modified Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top