Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sheiko Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 475 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, July 6, 2014

I just recently graduated from Sheiko and from my experience I learned that what many see as chaos when they walk through our school doors is just a family in the making. I personally believe that the worst part about this school is all the negative feelings you get from staff members. Since the day I transferred here I made friendships that are way stronger than the ones I made at my old school.


Posted May 18, 2012

It was bad enough that they changed the name of the school (sorry - didn't see the need for that). However, my big issue is the new principal. Doesn't seem to have a firm grasp on the school community. I visit the school occasionally and the hallways are now loud, the lunch room is ear-splitting and it seems as if the students rule the school. Bring the old principal back and change the name to Green again. I miss the way it was. Too much chaos!


Posted December 9, 2010

This is the first year for our three children who are enrolled at Green. They have flourished so far and we could not be happier with their teachers! The Principal is very involved and knows EVERY child! She is never sitting at a desk and always there for anything you need. I hope any parents thinking about putting their child in Green will rush out and do so! They are FABULOUS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Green has very good and caring teachers, a very caring staff and a terrific principal. I highly recommend Green elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My son began at Green in the Pre-K program in October. He loves school and has rich experiences there. I can see that he is flourishing as a result of the knowledgable teachers and caring support staff. In the Fall of next year, I will have my pick of the schools in the district that he can attend. I will more than likely remain at Green, though I am very impressed with other schools in the district as well, including Ealy and Doherty. My money is definitely well-spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

My son has excelled at Green and has fostered a love for reading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

This was my 2 kids first year at Green and I must say it was a great one for them and our family. My 1st grader excelled so well in his spelling, reading and math. His teacher challenged him with the right material and pace. My 3rd grader had to go thru and adjustment period for 'Everyday Math' program. However, her teacher worked very well with her and I to get her at the required level. After that, my daughter was able to keep up and flow consistently with the class. Thanks to good team work. The principal & staff is 'A1' as well. I'm very pleased with the social and academics environment the school provides. I will be enrolling my 3rd child. Thanks Green Elem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

My son is in kindergarten. I am so impressed with the school and what he is learning! They do science projects, can count by 2s and 5s to 100, get a book from the library weekly, have chef of the week and each child even did a presentation about themselves. It is a great environment and my son loves it and the information that he tells us about is amazing. His teacher is kind and patient and really seems to understand his abilities. Couldn't ask for more. Keep up the good work Green!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 69%
African-American 36% 18%
Asian 10% 3%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sonja James
Fax number
  • (248) 865-6371

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Walnut Lake Rd
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 865-6370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Doherty Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI


Brookfield Academy - West Bloomfield
West Bloomfield Township, MI


Lone Pine Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI



West Hills Middle School
West Bloomfield, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT