Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orchard Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 735 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

I'm a 8th grader here at olms and I have to say I love this school. The teachers love and care for all the students the staff is great. I love the many programs this school has. I'm very sad to say that this is my last year at olms


Posted August 3, 2012

There are no advanced programs for gifted children except in math. Smart students are never challenged and can get good grades without putting forth any effort. It does not prepare students for future academic challenges and there are many exclusive cliques that make shy students feel lonely.


Posted June 15, 2012

I must say I was afaird to send my daughter to olms but I am happy to say that Mrs. James and the staff goes above and beyond the call for her as a student.I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Your child will always feel at home in this school. Its very diverse lots of arts programs, and classes. One of the best schools out there!


Posted April 3, 2010

I graduated OLMS in June 2009. As mentioned below, it is indeed a school with diversity. How well a student does depends a lot on the student. OLMS has great learning oppurtunities, most teachers teach really well and the content is in-depth and good. Teachers attempt to enforce hard work on the students, but after a certain point it is totally up to the student. If you take complete charge of your academics and strive to excel, you will find that OLMS is not really hard. However, it prepares you greatly for high school. If you take advantage of all the good oppurtunities in OLMS, high school is going to be very easy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

So im going to be honest-- olms is a school with great diversity. The school is yes very overpopulated and unfortunately 8 teachers have been laid off. I am an 8th grader who believes that the school has given me everything there is to offer a middle school student. The fine arts programs are an extremely proud accomplishment!! if you are considering orchard lake middle school please keep in mind that the school has many many children but has the typical middle school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

I will graduate OLMS this week! I loved the school and throughly enjoyed every aspect of the fine arts program, and all of my academics. I had various teachers that I know will be unforgetable. OLMS is the place to be when it comes to succeeding. I will throughly miss this school but I am so thankful that I was a part of it for the last three years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2007

This is a very solid school. Principal leadership is excellent. A few teachers are not as good as others and seem to be biding their time but many of the teachers are outstanding and highly motivated. Student environment has improved under current administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

The teachers are outstanding and on task. It is amazing to see how much the children learn from the amazing staff at OLMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

This is a great school with many oppertunities. Some teachers are better than others. We have a wonderful choir, dance, and art programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

This is an excellent school with great leadership. Students are actively involved in projects relating to real life experiences at every grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My brother's had great expierences at OLMS, and so do I . I will be completing my last year at OLMs and will miss the awesome teachers soo much!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

270 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 69%
African-American 39% 18%
Asian 12% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Robert Borders
Fax number
  • (248) 865-4481

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Orchard Lake Rd
West Bloomfield, MI 48322
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 865-4480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Learning Circle Academy
West Bloomfield, MI


West Hills Middle School
West Bloomfield, MI


Hillel Day School
Farmington Hills, MI



The Maria Montessori Center
Farmington Hills, MI


Maria Montessori Center
Farmington Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT