Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bloomfield Maples Montessori

Private | PK-2 | 90 students

We are best known for Personalized curriculum.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in West Bloomfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2012

I had my children in this school totaling about 5 years. We had a great experience. The teachers were wonderful and kept my kids very challenged. They create a very much cocooned environment for the toddler program which was nice for that age group. My kids were able to be placed in the advanced class when they moved to elementary school. This school provided an outstanding learning environment for my children. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

I'm the parent of two children currently enrolled at Bloomfield Maples Montessori and my husband and I are very pleased with our decision to send our boys to this school. The teachers are patient, kind, trained in the montessori method, and understand that each child is an individual that learns at their own pace and way. My children are growing and becoming confident in their knowledge as well as in themselves. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Very disappointed with this school. They lack quality teaching staff. School is quick to dismiss parental concerns. Not easy to deal with on the whole. I will not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

This school has been successful for over 28 years. It has a wonderful reputation within the community and many of the students are at the school through recommendations from many of our previous and existing parents. We strive for high academic success along with being sensitive to the student's individual needs. We have a strong parental involvement and an open door policy that allows for parents to observe at any time. The teachers are well educated in the Montessori philosophy and are sensitive to the needs of each student. The staff has a strong commitment to the idea of Peace Education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2010

Bloomfield Maples Montessori is Top Notch! As the parent to a current BMMC student, I can say the staff is friendly and understanding and the teachers are very committed to each child's development. Each year, BMMC incorporates a "theme" which guides the montessori's teaching and culminates a wide range of life/social and academic lessons. The "theme" makes for teachable moments inside and outside of the classroom. The summer camp at BMMC also centers around weekly themes and is designed to make learning fun. Also, for working parents, BMMC offers flexible before-care and after-care. If you are deciding on a school for your child, make BMMC your top choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

It is not as it seems.. when you visit the school you will be impressed, but some of the teachers are quick to give up on children that don't learn "the montessori way". They are not patient and understanding, with children that are new to the system. So if your child is a regular 3 or 4 year old and you haven't enrolled him in the montessori program at a young age, think again.. and this is specific to this school not all montessori programs. At this location, the teachers were quick to throw judgements and not helpful in making your child feel comfortable in a new environment. i do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Very friendly staff. I can t stress more on the high education level that targets every kind of knowledge from language skills to math and science to musical, artistic and physical development. The school even provides you with after school programs that are simply excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Great School. Good, friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jeanette Lynam
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 W Maple Rd
West Bloomfield, MI 48322
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 661-0910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Forest Elementary School
Farmington Hills, MI


Sheiko Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI


Doherty Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT