Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brookfield Academy

Private | K-5 | 78 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Bloomfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

The quality of education varies depending on the teacher. We have had excellent teachers and also horrible teachers who are super negative or neglect kids who are super intelligent. Some teachers are "fussy old ladies", constantly nagging about petty things. Others are natural teachers. The after school program is great. The kids love it. The material and homework vary by teacher so the kids may be learning the same material for two years in a row or may be missing things so parent involvement is crucial. They spend several years memorizing phonic rules (lower school) but never on application or using it in a sentence until they are much older (2-3 years later- maybe it is again dependent on the teacher?) However, they are expected to do a high level of comprehension and writing without really learning about sentence structure. Also some rules are simply not necessary like the sounds of "u". The math curriculum seems to cover the basics at the beginning and end of the year. Wish it was more systematic: start with the basics first and then application rather than application then basics. For the high price, I would expect more consistency in the quality of teachers & less whining!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

Brookfield Academy is wonderful! The staff, teachers and Ms. Lisa are awesome! Our two children have thrived at Brookfield Academy. We could not have asked for a more caring, thoughtful and educated group of staff and teachers. Many of the teachers have years of experience and are dedicated to individualizing learning plans to met each child's needs. My oldest who would complain about "hating" school, loves going to school every morning now. Thank you Brookfield for being such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Not the same since the change in owners. Falling enrollment. Principal and teacher turnover. Materials and lessons vary by teacher. No unified curriculum across classes. Math relegated to independent learning in elementary classes. Enrichment classes reinstated only after meetings with parent company management after being eliminated last year. Stanford test eliminated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

My child started 2 years ago and has gained so much from learning how to read since she was 3 1/2 to learning how to become an independent thinker at a young age. The academics are exceptional!!! Brookfield really follows the true Montessori Approach. Not all Montessori's are the same. My daughter has a 'love of learning' thanks to Brookfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

This school is awesome! i love it soooo much. i've been there for six years and last year i graduated. Now my sister goes there, so i can visit all my old teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2008

I have 2 kids there and they are doing great. I like the focused attention and the small nature of the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

My daughter has been at Brookfield since age 3. After two years, she is reading at a second grade level, working with Montessori materials to divide and multiply, and is happy to go to school every day. The teachers in the preparatory classes were excellent. The three teacher team she had for the two previous years were amazingly kind, involved, genuine, concerned and energetic. Even though there can be administrative issues from time to time, the academics and the things the child deals with from day to day are superior. The school may lack a little in terms of physical education, but I supplement by signing her up for after school programs that are offered through the school and locally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

my son has been attending wb brookfield since he was three. he loves it there! his teacher is great and he was reading by age 4 (only going to school 1/2 day)!!! we could not be happier! we are moving out of state and we only hope we can find a school like brookfield! A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

It's a great school. The teachers are very friendly and the environment is great for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

My daughter started WB Brookfield ar 3.5 years old. She loves and so do we. The staff is wonderful and her development is beyond words. I would highly recommend this school. It's a great academic, social and learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

I had two children enrolled at brookfield this year. I was pleased with both childrens progress academically and socially. Everyone from the principal to teachers are wonderful,smart,and giving. They take pride in educating our children. We are being transfered accross the state and wont have the privlidge to send our children there next year. We would reccomend this school. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Multiracial 67% N/A
White 13% 71%
African-American 11% 20%
Asian 5% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lisa Winkel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (248) 626-3690

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2965 Walnut Lake Rd
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: (248) 626-6665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Doherty Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI


Learning Circle Academy
West Bloomfield, MI


West Hills Middle School
West Bloomfield, MI


Lone Pine Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI


West Maple Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Sheiko Elementary School
West Bloomfield, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT