Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Westland

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 352 students

We are best known for Special Education Department.

 
 

Living in Westland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2012

I worked as a substitute teacher in the fall of 2012. The school is now American International Academy. The head pricipal is two-faced. He will act nice in front of you. However,behind your back he will say negative comments about you. Watch your dealings with this man.


Posted April 2, 2012

this is my son's first year there and will be his last. The staff the teachers (not all) are very unprofessional! they are just rude! they put on this image like they really care for the parents and students when they really care about THEIR IMAGE! Ever since my child been going here all i keep hearing is he does this and he does that! nothing concerning his school work. Yes my son is a challenge but what kid not. Instead of working with me they are working against me trying their hardest to exclude him fro school instead of helping him learn. If your teachers are not capable of teaching the child then they should not be teachers and seek another occupation that fits them. Instead they are there for a paycheck. When i was in school my teachers my principal was very hard on me because they wanted to see me succeed! not because they didn't like me! the staff are out of line half the tie that you are talking to them they speak to you like you are a child. The principal is rude, snappy, and never there. He's not even envolved with the kids nothing just sits in his office drinking coffee, and flipping thru papers. Ugh i am very DISAPPOINTED with this school my child will not RETURN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

This is a terribly ineffective school. Being a teacher that worked there in the past, I can say first hand that you should absolutely not put your children in this school. I would even recommend pulling them out if enrolled and at all possible. The building being old, unclean, unsanitary and unsafe in places is the least of concerns. The resources available are not conducive to student success. The higher up personnel in this building is some of the most unprofessional I have ever encountered. I am referring to the manner in which they treat staff and the children! I am lucky to have found an amazing, successful, loving school to work at. Strive to find this for your kids as well!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2011

I just moved into the area, and enrolled my children for the 2011-2012 school year. When I arrived to registration the staff was unwelcoming. No one spoke to my children or asked them their names. They didn't show any interest. One of the staff walked past me, and began talking about herself to other staff. No one introduced themselves or their position. I wanted to express my concerns to the principal however it is hard to get in touch with him, I guess he's continously unreachable. I have a bad feeling of enrolling my children there. I didn't get a tour of the school and the school calendar was very unprofessionally done. Im considering looking into Guadiour Academy they were more pleasant
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Academy of Westland is a great school becausethey are stricked about the school and about our grades which is helping alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

My daughter attends this current year and my son graduated 2 years ago. I personally like the school , becasue of the teachers they are well involved with the students even when they are a difficult group of children. what I don't like is the school somtimes places to many children in one class which makes it difficult on the teacher to keep the class organized and on schedule
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

My son attends the Academy of Westland School; this is his first year. The staff and teachers are very helpful to both my child and I. I am a single working mother. And the Academy of Westland School is very close to where we live. The student is required to wear uniforms (which I like). The curriculum and extracurricular activities keep my son busy. This school is very interested in my child s welfare. I feel this school goes above and beyond the call of duty in many aspects of life, education, teaching and mentoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

My child has been at academy of westland since kindergarten and to be honest I really don't see the school improving at all. So many good teachers gone. The school is beginning to run down. Every week something has changed as far school rules or programs. The principal is what I call a fast talker he says what he wants you to hear. I love it when he says how good the school but yet his own children don't attend there. Half the time he's not even there and the students and teachers have to be there at a certain time so why is it fair that he can scroll in when he gets ready. The water isn't clean the bathrooms are horrible and let us not mention the portables(filthy). The kids come out of the school using so much profanity and teachers are standing there not saying anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This is my first year having my child at this school and it is wonderful. They are working with me as far as the bus system and just being very nice. This school seems like they are really for the kids and supporting them. My daughter loves the school and I look forward to what the year may bring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Academy of Westland is a awesome school. The same teachers have been teaching there for eight or nine years. They have a great curriculum. There is always something wonderful going on to keep our children involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Academy of Westland is a great school. Academy of Westland doesn't sit on a main street so don't many people know about this wonderful school. My grandson attend this school and is always talking about the many different activity going on there. He plays scoocer, which starts with the kindergarters. Stop by the school and see the loving and caring sprit. grandma


Posted January 30, 2008

i love academy of westland i think it is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

I think the school is okay it has wonderful teachers. The school is being ran to the ground. And there are alot of changes that need to be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

I think the principal is an outstanding young. For the most part, he does a good job dealing with the students. Parent must remember control of kids start at home. Children should not fear the principal or teachers, but respect them. I like the way the teachers come together and put on activities. It is far better than Detroit Public Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I have a child who was a student at the Academy of Westland and has attended his last day on the 17th of June....the leadership is not what it is suppose to be for children in the lower grade school. It boils downs to leadership and this school has none! The teachers have no authority in their classrooms and the children do not fear the principal! The majority of the teachers in this school are very good in their profession but the lack of support from the principal's office often leave the teachers frustrated! Every organization succeeds under good leadership;The Academy of Westland as of June 2007 does not have that leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My mother said if you can't say something nice don't say anything at all. But if we don't say anything then others will suffer just like I. Initially I thought this was going to be a good experience for my children. But I was wrong. I can't blame anyone but the principal for this because it is left us to him to ensure the parents know what is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Ms.Arnold and mr.Linsey did work very hard to get us an education. So academy of westland would be a great school for anyone child to go to,and this is coming from a 14 year old.Thanks 'aow' for the great memories.Love caticae taylor
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2006

Academy of Westland is a great school. It is a very friendly school and the teachers and staff are very helpful. The basketball team was runner up in the championship and the cheerleading team is great. 'Go Blazers'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 28, 2006

My child has been enrolled at the academy for three years, and he is very happy to go to school. He loves his teacher and principal. He is always coming home telling me about how Mr. Lindsay was teaching the class. When Mr. Lindsay first got there I was concerned about the changes, but things have gotten a lot better since he arrived. The teachers are excellent. The school just need more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

My daughter has been in this school for 5 years (since she started school) and now my son (been here for 2 years, since he started school) and I have been rather pleased. As with all schools there are always positive and negative things you will hear, everyones experience will be different. We have went through 3 principals, but the current one seems to have good energy and interaction with the students, parents and staff. The teachers I have had the pleasure of interacting with, all seem eager to teach and help where ever they are needed. Some teachers go beyond the call of duty. Parent involvement needs to increase drastically, you see the same parents there everyday. They have after school programs and activities, but the involvement in those need to increase with student participation. Sports programs should have greater student turnout at games, but they don't. Overall agreat school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 98% 19%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
White 0% 69%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A48%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A47%
Male 51%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AdvancEd Accreditation (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • LaGuardia A. Summers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (734) 722-8025

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
  • Technology

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 South Henry Ruff Rd
Westland, MI 48186
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 722-1465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT