Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johnson Upper Elementary School

Public | 5-6 & ungraded | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

Johnson is a fantastic school. The principal, Ms. Urso, (new to Johnson in 2012) is by far the BEST administrator we have encountered in Livonia schools. She is passionate about the kids getting a great education in a safe, caring environment and holds her teachers to a high standard. The teachers that our son has had are all great, including the 'specials' teachers for art, music, and PE. This school should be the benchmark for all schools in Livonia!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

They have wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Wonderful school-aged childcare program led by a talented instructor named Lori Martin. Teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

This School is very different (in a good way). They teach the kids not only math or solcial studies but a life lesson. The teacher my daughter appreciated the most was Mr. Mack. He has touched her heart and taught her not only school knowledge but general knowledge. I would recommend Mr. Mack for any child. My daughter loves the principles there,Mr. Steele and Mrs.Mintermen. Mr. Steele has been my daughters principle for 6 out of 8 years in school (counting Pre-School). In my daughter's lanuage 'Mr. Steele is the Bomb'. Mrs. Minstermen has been her Principle for 2 out of 8 years in school (counting Pre-Scool). My daughter has told me that Mrs. Minstermen has made the biggest changes in her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

I have been a Johnson parent since 1994. All three of our children were students at Johson. It is a wonderful school and community. The area has grown tremendously. I have so much respect for the teachers and stafff that have helped to 'mold' our children these past twelve years. They truly care for the kids. I am proud to have volunteered at Johnson and be an active participant of our children's experiences. I can't believe our baby is graduating from the 6th grade class this June! Johnson will always hold a special place in all of our hearts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

As an African American Parent I would NOT recommend this school to African Americans. You feel the racism when you enter the building. My child told me that his teacher only called on certain students and I also observed that with my own eyes. I had heard such great things about this school and it's unfortunate that my child had to experience this at a young age, but it's a great life lesson for him. Teaching children should not be about color in the 21st century. I also found the curriculum not rigorous enough for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

This school sounds very great and looks very great my student attends that scdool and she is a straight A student before at Hayes Elementary School she had straight C's I heard in the paper that this school is the top three school in Michagan My grandaughter has been going there since 4'th grade and she adores it there her favorite part was Mrs.Licata's class she taught her very well now my grandaughter is in 5'th grade and she is doing very well I am so proud of her it is very close to the end of the year and every day she is getting older prety soon she will be in 6'th grade and still atend Johnson and then go on to Frost and Churchill bow that she has acomplished many skills I want to just go on and say goodbye now thank you so much goodbye for now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2003

I am very disappointed that there is no foreign language program. I also am advocating for a 'diversity competence' training program for all staff, given the multi-ethnic student population of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

258 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 17% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deann Urso
Fax number
  • (734) 744-2742

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 North Hix Rd
Westland, MI 48185
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 744-2740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT