Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-6
Public
Westland, MI
Students enrolled: 577

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Johnson is a fantastic school. The principal, Ms. Urso, (new to Johnson in 2012) is by far the BEST administrator we have encountered in Livonia schools. She is passionate about the kids getting a great education in a safe, caring environment and holds her teachers to a high standard. The teachers that our son has had are all great, including the 'specials' teachers for art, music, and PE. This school should be the benchmark for all schools in Livonia!
1 person found this helpful

Johnson Upper Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
They have wonderful teachers


Johnson Upper Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful school-aged childcare program led by a talented instructor named Lori Martin. Teachers and staff are great.

Johnson Upper Elementary School 1

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a parent
This School is very different (in a good way). They teach the kids not only math or solcial studies but a life lesson. The teacher my daughter appreciated the most was Mr. Mack. He has touched her heart and taught her not only school knowledge but general knowledge. I would recommend Mr. Mack for any child. My daughter loves the principles there,Mr. Steele and Mrs.Mintermen. Mr. Steele has been my daughters principle for 6 out of 8 years in school (counting Pre-School). In my daughter's lanuage 'Mr. Steele is the Bomb'. Mrs. Minstermen has been her Principle for 2 out of 8 years in school (counting Pre-Scool). My daughter has told me that Mrs. Minstermen has made the biggest changes in her life.


Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
I have been a Johnson parent since 1994. All three of our children were students at Johson. It is a wonderful school and community. The area has grown tremendously. I have so much respect for the teachers and stafff that have helped to 'mold' our children these past twelve years. They truly care for the kids. I am proud to have volunteered at Johnson and be an active participant of our children's experiences. I can't believe our baby is graduating from the 6th grade class this June! Johnson will always hold a special place in all of our hearts!
1 person found this helpful

Johnson Upper Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2005
- a parent
As an African American Parent I would NOT recommend this school to African Americans. You feel the racism when you enter the building. My child told me that his teacher only called on certain students and I also observed that with my own eyes. I had heard such great things about this school and it's unfortunate that my child had to experience this at a young age, but it's a great life lesson for him. Teaching children should not be about color in the 21st century. I also found the curriculum not rigorous enough for my child.
1 person found this helpful


Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2004
- a parent
This school sounds very great and looks very great my student attends that scdool and she is a straight A student before at Hayes Elementary School she had straight C's I heard in the paper that this school is the top three school in Michagan My grandaughter has been going there since 4'th grade and she adores it there her favorite part was Mrs.Licata's class she taught her very well now my grandaughter is in 5'th grade and she is doing very well I am so proud of her it is very close to the end of the year and every day she is getting older prety soon she will be in 6'th grade and still atend Johnson and then go on to Frost and Churchill bow that she has acomplished many skills I want to just go on and say goodbye now thank you so much goodbye for now.

Johnson Upper Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnson Upper Elementary School
8400 North Hix Road, Westland, MI  48185
(734) 744-2740
Last modified Johnson Upper Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnson Upper Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top