Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
This school uses the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Students as a guide to teaching students prioritization and integrity.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a new second grader to this school...we transferred from Canton schools because of the location. This school is great!!! There is always so much going on...it shows the staff is really engaged with the community and students. I absolutely LOVE that they offer Spanish classes as part of the curriculum!!! Ms. Horton really engages and pushes her 2nd graders to excellence. I am very impressed thus far :)


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
All of my daughters teachers have been wonderful so far. They genuinely care about her and her educational development.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
This school has been so helpful to my little girl. Everyone is great and I love her teacher, Mrs. Sulfridge. Angel loves her so much. Great school.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2015
- a community member
Schweitzer is warm, friendly, and student centered. They offer so many things for kids and families. Staff members are outstanding.


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
My son spent all of his elementary years here. This school ranking does not do it justice, the teachers are fantastic, my sons reading and capabilities have improved exponentially, and we could not be happier with them. This school system really keeps the parents informed!

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2004
- a parent
Schweitzer is one of the best elementary schools in the district. We live around the corner and the neighborhood alone is wonderful. The principal, staff and parent support is awsome and our family always feels welcome when attending any function or just making a quick stop into the office. I help out with Girl Scouts and it's great that the school offers a room for our use and is willing to help with any other necessitys that we need. The playground is clean and has many structures for all grades to play on. My daughter is in the 5th grade and is already sad about leaving the school next year. She loves her teacher and all the friends that she's made thru the years there.

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2004
- a parent
Excellent is an understatement. Schweitzer is full of dedicated teachers that take their kids beyond what is expected of them. My child has thrived. The principal is superb. She is visible at all times and involved with parents and children. This is a first name basis school because eveyone is in touch with one another. The staff is the key of this school and they deserve a long pat on the back for all their dedication. Westland schools have been underated for years and this is the place that could blow those ratings off the map. A+ from this parent who believes this school is based on individuals and not meaningless evaluations that compare to fat-budgeted school districts with unlimited power because of their financial status. As always, it takes a combined effort of teacher/parent to enlighten a child. This school encourages that relationship and makes it an all around winner.


Albert Schweitzer Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a parent
I have had children going to this school for 20 yrs and still have 2 children and 1 more that will go to schweitzer we have loved every yr there. my children look forward to going to school the teachers as well as the principal are very involved with the children. they always great every child in the halls. they know every one its more like extended family in a way. the principal is in the halls and walks the building and visits every class room she does't just sit in the office. if you choose this school you and your children will have a very positive experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albert Schweitzer Elementary School
2601 Treadwell Street, Westland, MI  48186
(734) 419-2750
Last modified Albert Schweitzer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Albert Schweitzer Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top