Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
Westland, MI
Students enrolled: 459

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted October 09, 2014
- a teacher
I did not like this school.the third grade teacher was terrible I really felt very sorry for her students.she was impolite and her behavior Was bad.I can never imagine my kids have such a teacher

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be very good until the changes in the school system 2 years ago. The principal here now is not very empathetic to the children & I have heard from many parents of how uninvolved she is. She does not seem like a good fit for elementary school students as it seems more like a "job" to her than a "passion". The parking lot is very over crowded which I believe is why there are so many disgruntled parents in the mornings. They have a huge field next to the school that they should turn into a parking lot but never look into when brought up. Overall there could be a chance for this school to get back to the way it used to be if there were some huge changes.


Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted July 24, 2012
- a parent
Terrible school, worse parents. It's not uncommon to find parents swearing at each other in the street or school parking lot. Since norwayne schools have closed their students, parents and atmosphere has invaded Hamilton. The staff is nothing amazing either. My son's 3rd grade teacher would offten wear shirts revealing her mid-drift. The annual carnivals are ran by Wayne Memoral High School students who look like they would rather be doing anything else. I am moving my son this shool year.

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
I have 4 children in Hamilton Elementary & we have been very happy with the school. We have been in the Wayne-Westland school district for 6yrs and are very satisfied. There is a strong parent involved atmosphere. The principal and teachers are very interactive with the students individually no matter the class sizes. There are many afterschool activities that keep the children busy also.

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2011
- a community member
my 7 yr old sister gose her im sad to repornt that the school was a good one untell the new principal as been gotten here she is never arould when you need her , she dose not keep up on her rules that she makes,and for being a principal she dressing like she is high school with high boots up to her knee with leggings and shirt wow she as everyone else do her job because she is to lazy this is just a project to her to get on the bored because her daddy is high on the bored DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS SCHOOL


Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
Hamilton is an excellent school and my son has been very happy there. I have had minimal complaints about the school, and they were addressed immediately. My son says the principal is his friend and the school secretary is amazing.

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
I LOVE Hamilton! I have 2 children enrolled. I think the teachers are great and helpful. The new principal is AWESOME. She loves the children and goes out of her way to make parents feel important.


Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2006
- a parent
My family has been at Hamilton for 10 years now and we hope to send our 2 year old there also, it is wonderful, the principal is great with the kids, our secretary is outstanding and goes out of her way for anyone. The one thing you have to understand about the teacher's is they can only do so much it takes parent participation also to achieve the best education for your child. The school goes out of it's way to provide help and support to anyone in need. We have many after school activities, alot more than other schools I know. Proud parent of (3) Hamilton Stars. Cheryle

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2005
- a parent
I was very disappointed to find out that the student teacher ratio is so high. My son is in the 2nd grade and his class consist of 27 students to 1 teacher. In 1st grade last year there was only 19 but they have increased the 1st grade this year to allow 27 students per teacher. I think this is way too many.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexander Hamilton Elementary School
1031 South Schuman Street, Westland, MI  48186
(734) 419-2650
Last modified Alexander Hamilton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexander Hamilton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top