Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Linn. Even though she couldn't pin point what was going on with my child, she made a conscious effort at addressing my concerns. For that I am forever grateful.

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I wasn't expecting the moon & stars going in because of the rating. But I was surprised in a good way. I had heard bad things about certain staff. Thankfully I didn't have to encounter anything too negative my son's first year there. My only gripes are that they should assign the next year teacher sooner and give out recommended class supply lists at the end of each year. It's not fair to expect parents to pull $ out of a hat for school supplies 1 week before school starts. Also, more parent volunteers would be nice. I think I volunteered with the same parents all year long.


Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter brought home on average 1 sheet of homework during her 2 years there,

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
This school is BIG on show reference to the "right" skin color or gender. Teachers focused on their favorites.

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 3

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
My son is a kindergartener this year at Elliott. I was actually debating between this school and a private school. I must say that after reading all the good reviews on Elliott I decided to give it a try. However it's not what I thought it was going to be. The principal is nice and very much involved. But I am disappointed in the curriculum. Everyday I ask my son what he has learned and he can't tell me. Also he never receives homework. The teacher does send home weekly newsletters recommending things to work on and that's it. It also bothers me that I never see work in his backpack. Overall the school is ok but I don't think its the school for us. As I understand it the kindergarten teacher this year is new so I will give her until the end of this semester.


Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2007
- a student
I love Elliott, I have been there for 6 years and now I have to move on to 6th grade. Dr.Summervile is a fun principal. Also all of the other teachers. I just wish they didn't keep changing teachers so much. I would want more security, well that is what my mom says. So Elliott is a very great school. Even winning that Golden Apple award.

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in 1st grade at Elliott and we are very happy. Last year the kindergarten teacher is amazing! She is the best kindergarten teacher I have I known! Also in 1st grade the teachers so far have been great! They have all the extracurricular activities and also have plenty of 'extras' during the day (art, gym, life skills, media, music) also a great library! They try to get parents involved as much as possible, unfortunately we dont have nearly enough parent involvement. As a member of the PTSO at Elliott, I can say we need to get the rest of the parents in here! Great school, Amazing teachers, next year my daughter will actually be able to have the same 2nd grade teacher as I did ( I grew up at Elliott and loved it then!)

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2005
- a parent
I like Elliott school because the class sizes are small. There are lots of after school activities on both academic and social levels. My child receives special education services at Elliott. We couldn't be happier with the his achievements and the dedication of the entire staff.


Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2005
- a parent
This school is excellent, they make available all of the resources you need to ensure your child's success. The principle, Dr. Summerville and the entire staff are dedicated and have worked to improve MEAP scores and overall school performance. The only negative is parent participation, they have been coming up with different programs to encourage parents to become involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School
30800 Bennington Street, Westland, MI  48186
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (734) 419-2610
Last modified Eugene B. Elliott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top