Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Glenn High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Hanson! You saved my kid from being behind in reading in 1st grade. Thank you!

John Glenn High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great! They really care about the kids. They strive to help them succeed in school and in life. I have had many of them bend over backwards in an effort to help my children grow and learn.


John Glenn High School 5

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
The John Glenn School district is amazing! I have had my kids in it and my nieces in it. They have worked with them and focused in on any areas they have struggled to bring out the best in them! They have always worked with me as a parent and had excellent communication. They offer many high quality programs that my kids have been a part of and enjoyed immensely. They offer tutoring days for convenient after school help. They teachers love their jobs and have always shown my kids the attention they needed to succeed. I have always been happy with my choice to move to this school district. Thank you John Glenn!

John Glenn High School 4

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I'm very pleased with the teachers & staff at John Glenn. The administration is extremely involved in every aspect & have the students best interest at heart. Mr. Ingham is a phenomenal principal! He is truly passionate & caring about the students at John Glenn. We had an unforeseen circumstance happen last school year & the administration stepped in immediately & had it completely resolved by the end of the same school day! I could not have been more impressed with how they handled it! The only reason I'm not giving a 5 star review, is because I honestly feel the new dress code is ridiculous, especially when the lower level has no A/C & literally feels like a sauna, who can concentrate & learn in that environment? I know I couldn't! I have 2 daughters at JG & yes I completely agree that young ladies should dress respectful! However I feel that fingertip length shorts & tank tops w/2 fingers width (same as elementary & middle school) should be acceptable!!

John Glenn High School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Drews is so wonderful!! My daughter loved having her last year. She's an excellent Biology teacher but also truly has a vested interest in the development and well being of the children. Mr. Ingham has also been an incredible support to our girls cheerleading program!! Thank you JG for all you do! GO ROCKETS!!


John Glenn High School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a recent graduate of John Glenn High School. My son is a student there. They both have been offered not only a rigorous curriculum to help prepare them for college and a career, but they also were able to participate in a variety of extra curricular activities and feel connected to their school community.

John Glenn High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The staff not only works to connect and help the students but they do a lot of joint projects and activities that the kids really enjoy.

John Glenn High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
If your student takes any of the many AP or college classes offered, they will have homework every night.


John Glenn High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The staff focuses on Positive Behavior methods and provides the students with ways to solve problems without being shamed or unnecessarily punished. This give the students the confidence and support to act with honesty, integrity and fairness.

John Glenn High School 2

Posted May 19, 2015
- a student
This school targets young ladies for showing "too much." They don't care what you wear in the winter, but as soon as it turns 80 degrees they flip out about everything possible. Obviously we ladies are going to wear shorts and t-shirts, when its 100 degrees in the lower part of the building that has no air conditioning. This school is very sexist, they only target the females, not the males! ~ A student. c/o 2018

Nearby schools

John Glenn High School
36105 Marquette Street, Westland, MI  48185
(734) 419-2300
Last modified John Glenn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Top