Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Houghton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Houghton Elementary has the best Teachers, Staff and Principal. The teachers care about the children and take time to teach them all that they need to know to be successful students.

Houghton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
Houghton used to be one on the best, but not anymore. The PTA is involved and there are some good teachers, but the school has gone through several principles. There is a reason for this. The school has an old school mentality that needs to be seriously updated. The teachers run the school, not the principle. The principle has not used his best judgment when it pertains to the children. Several teachers do not let the parents be as involved as they should. New ideas are not welcome. It is 2009, not 1969. I would not send my child here. There are better schools within the Waterford school district. The negative past reviews are quite accurate. Not impressed with Mr. Nester at all. He needs to go back into retirement.


Houghton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Our son completed grades 1-5 at Houghton. Houghton is a terrific elementary school in Waterford, and has been considered one of the best, if not top elementary school in the Waterford School District since I was a child attending Waterford Schools. Houghton's PTA involvement is great. The teachers are terrific. Many of the teachers have Master Degree's and/or continue their education through seminars and conferences over summer months. Teachers were always helpful and caring, and always accessible. Class ratios were always met to the teacher's union contract. Houghton's extra programs (like Readers and Leaders) are wonderful. Even their before & after school care program was good. New Administration always take some getting used to, but do not make the entire school bad (as reviews on here would have you think). However, let's remember that parents need to be involved in their child's education--it's not entirely up to their teachers.

Houghton Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Houghton Elementary School 1

Posted July 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Houghton Elementary School 4

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
I must respond to the person who posted 'the school is moving in the wrong direction, etc.'You are there for 4 weeks & you can make that assumption? I feel sorry for your child, he was pulled out of a very caring & parent involved school that cares what parents think.You seem to be teaching him to have a temper tantrum when things go wrong and quit instead of working on the problem-obviously you didn't get very involved with the issue because it would have been resolved, I'm sure. We've been at Houghton for 6 years & while all the teachers aren't perfect, they do care about the kids, & most of the teachers are awesome- we had most of them, we should know, and as for Mr. Nester, don't even go there, he is awesome too.

Houghton Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
I am so sorry that someone really feels like this. I think Mr. Nester has gone out of his way to make sure things run smooth here. We had a problem the second day of school and he was already getting involved. I see him outside in the morning when the buses are coming in and he is always walking the hallways and stops in the classrooms to see what is going on. Not like Ms. Smith who you hardlly even seen at school. I have been in this school for 5 years and many more to come and I am very happy with what is going on here. The staff is wonderful and very easy to talk to and get along with. I guess this person didn't give this school a chance. To bad for them.

Houghton Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This school is going in the wrong direction. Not, a good place to send your child if you are interested in working with the faculty. Principal seems unwilling or unable to change the poisoning effect of a few of the teachers and the effect they have not only on the students but younger teachers that are following that lead. Lottery, by sending your child here. You might get a good teacher or you may get someone who will make your child hate school, and be abusive to you at the same time. If you send your child here, research which teacher you will get. I found out too late that mine did not win the lottery. 4 weeks in and I'm pulling my child out. When I told him, he was very excited and happy, that should tell you something.


Houghton Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Houghton Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
There has been a drop in parent involvement in the past year due to the new administration. Teachers do not seem to put the extra effort in, as they had in the past. There is a noticeable lack of enthusiasm in the building as a whole.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houghton Elementary School
8080 Elizabeth Lake Road, White Lake Township, MI  48386
(248) 698-9230
Last modified Houghton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Houghton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top