Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Houghton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 426 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2010

Houghton Elementary has the best Teachers, Staff and Principal. The teachers care about the children and take time to teach them all that they need to know to be successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Houghton used to be one on the best, but not anymore. The PTA is involved and there are some good teachers, but the school has gone through several principles. There is a reason for this. The school has an old school mentality that needs to be seriously updated. The teachers run the school, not the principle. The principle has not used his best judgment when it pertains to the children. Several teachers do not let the parents be as involved as they should. New ideas are not welcome. It is 2009, not 1969. I would not send my child here. There are better schools within the Waterford school district. The negative past reviews are quite accurate. Not impressed with Mr. Nester at all. He needs to go back into retirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Our son completed grades 1-5 at Houghton. Houghton is a terrific elementary school in Waterford, and has been considered one of the best, if not top elementary school in the Waterford School District since I was a child attending Waterford Schools. Houghton's PTA involvement is great. The teachers are terrific. Many of the teachers have Master Degree's and/or continue their education through seminars and conferences over summer months. Teachers were always helpful and caring, and always accessible. Class ratios were always met to the teacher's union contract. Houghton's extra programs (like Readers and Leaders) are wonderful. Even their before & after school care program was good. New Administration always take some getting used to, but do not make the entire school bad (as reviews on here would have you think). However, let's remember that parents need to be involved in their child's education--it's not entirely up to their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I must respond to the person who posted 'the school is moving in the wrong direction, etc.'You are there for 4 weeks & you can make that assumption? I feel sorry for your child, he was pulled out of a very caring & parent involved school that cares what parents think.You seem to be teaching him to have a temper tantrum when things go wrong and quit instead of working on the problem-obviously you didn't get very involved with the issue because it would have been resolved, I'm sure. We've been at Houghton for 6 years & while all the teachers aren't perfect, they do care about the kids, & most of the teachers are awesome- we had most of them, we should know, and as for Mr. Nester, don't even go there, he is awesome too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I am so sorry that someone really feels like this. I think Mr. Nester has gone out of his way to make sure things run smooth here. We had a problem the second day of school and he was already getting involved. I see him outside in the morning when the buses are coming in and he is always walking the hallways and stops in the classrooms to see what is going on. Not like Ms. Smith who you hardlly even seen at school. I have been in this school for 5 years and many more to come and I am very happy with what is going on here. The staff is wonderful and very easy to talk to and get along with. I guess this person didn't give this school a chance. To bad for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school is going in the wrong direction. Not, a good place to send your child if you are interested in working with the faculty. Principal seems unwilling or unable to change the poisoning effect of a few of the teachers and the effect they have not only on the students but younger teachers that are following that lead. Lottery, by sending your child here. You might get a good teacher or you may get someone who will make your child hate school, and be abusive to you at the same time. If you send your child here, research which teacher you will get. I found out too late that mine did not win the lottery. 4 weeks in and I'm pulling my child out. When I told him, he was very excited and happy, that should tell you something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

There has been a drop in parent involvement in the past year due to the new administration. Teachers do not seem to put the extra effort in, as they had in the past. There is a noticeable lack of enthusiasm in the building as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

I have a son who has had nothing but excellent teachers in his three years @ Houghton! He is happy and so are my husband and I. I am very involved in the school and have to agree that Ms. Smith has done a great job in the short time at Houghton! Ms. Smith has brought Houghton to the 21st. century with new ideas and a fresh look at multiple things, but the first being the children! Houghton is a very family oriented and loving community and I am so glad I choose Houghton! I interveiwed 9 different schools before making my choice and I feel blessed that God lead us here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

I have to disagree. I have a daughter at Houighton and she is a very bright student above her 5th grade level. The teachers are awesome and keep me informed about her progress. I like that they let you know their phone numbers at home. My daughter has been to one of the best private schools in Michigan and they didn't even do that!! I love Mrs. Smith. She is a very caring woman and loves the children. I'm sorry you have had a bad experience at Houghton. Maybe you need to look a little closer at home. God bless all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

I whole hearted have to say that Houghton is a wonderful school and has provided a very loving and nurturing environment for my children to learn in. I am very involved at the school and feel that the teachers, principal, and staff all have the children's best interest at heart. It is a very family oriented school and I am proud to be part of it's community. My children are also excelling in their grades. If there is ever any concern I know that a teacher will contact me immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

I currently have two daughter's attending Houghton Elementary, and I have to say that my daughter is slipping terribly within there school system. A new principle took over the beginning of last year and parent involvement has dropped, the teachers due not communicate with the parents when they see a child struggle and the new principle does not have an open door policy. I am searching for a new school in hope to find a staff that promotes success, fairness and an open door policy for parents. I do not recommend this school if you are looking for your child to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
African-American 9% 18%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Anne Kruse
Fax number
  • (248) 698-9146

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8080 Elizabeth Lake Rd
White Lake, MI 48386
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 698-9230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dublin Elementary
White Lake, MI



St. Patrick School
White Lake, MI




Waterford Adventist School
Waterford Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT