Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wixom Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 539 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

Years later my child is behind in reading because he had the worst teacher I have ever seen in Kindergarten. My child would come home and would tell me the games and dancing learned in class. The teacher never taught anything useful and treated the classroom like child care. This teacher should be Fired! Give a new teacher a chance who actually wants to reach and educated children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Wixom Elementary is a very unique school that my son and me have been to and hoping his little brother would go to. It has taught us a lot of knowledge, his childhood memories are forever burned and drilled into his mind and he likes that because they were all good memories. My children pray to God if they had one wish, they would be children again and go to Wixom Elementary to be a child again, and so do I. Thank You for this and I hope you win $5000 since I am the last review. :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

I love Wixom Elementary, I think it's one of the best schools in the district. The principal is an excellent experienced leader/manager and he does a wonderful job with the staff and students. We also have a phenomenal group of parents that stay actively involved in everything that happens in the school, and therefore make it a better place to learn for out kids. Our older son is in 4th grade, and thus far we've been happy every step of the way. We are looking forward to another great year at Wixom Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The teachers are amazing. My son had Mrs. Chalmers 2 years in a row. Hand down one of the best teachers in the school. Turned my son around with reading!!! So thankful!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

Very competent, well-trained professional learning community. This staff shares knowledge, is very caring and reaches out to parents and community. Students are happy, well-behaved and great learners. A wonderful place for children to grow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 21, 2009

Excellent school! The principal and staff are amazing. Both teachers my son has had have been outstanding. They truly care about the kids. The PTA is active and does great things for the school. I highly recommend this school to anyone relocating to this area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The school teaches its students to be a part of the community from an early age. There are seasonal art projects made by the students displayed in our city. Not only these projects provide a unique and artistic touch to the city, they create a feeling of importance and involvement within the students. It's a great start of raising valid community members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

My children attend this school. The principal is fabulous! Very caring and personable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Both of my kids have gone through Wixom and we, as a family, love this school. The staff is amazing and the principal and office are out of this world. Thank you for making our elementary years unforgettable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
Hispanic 10% 6%
African-American 9% 18%
Asian 7% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alec Bender
Fax number
  • (248) 956-3405

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 North Wixom Road
Wixom, MI 48393
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 956-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Glengary Elementary School
Commerce Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT