Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grandville Century Park Learning Center

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 533 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Century Park Learning Center is a non-traditional school in terms of classroom structure. The multi-age classrooms are heavily dependent upon the expertise that is required of the teachers who are assigned this challenging role. As parents of a child who needs additional help in math, we did not witness an ability by most the teachers to individualize the learning experience of their students. I feel this school is best suited for those who are gifted in the core classes. It makes sense why the other Grandville schools and other districts haven't adopted the multi-age theory. On a positive note the staff is fun and involved in the social activities with our kiddos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Century Park is a top notch school. The teachers and staff truly care about our children. The students here benefit from a well planned curriculum, as well as the added special programs (science, art, physical education, music) that are being cut from many schools. My children have had the opportunity to take numerous educational field trips over the years and they have participated in many school supported programs that benefit our community. I highly recommend this school and I am so thankful that my children have the opportunity to have such an A+ learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

We have been at Century Park for 7 years starting in the daycare program Treehouse. As our oldest graduates to move onto the middle school I feel so blessed for the great educational foundation she received at Century Park. The final day included a few tears because of the great relationships, support and opportunities she experienced at CPLC from the amazing teachers and administration at the school. As her teacher told her on her last day don't be sad that its over; be happy that it happened. I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

We have been a parents at Century Park for 7 years and have many more years to come. We love this school and 100% support their anti-bullying policy. The staff and principal are quick to respond and communicate well with the parents. We do have choices to attend other elementary schools, but we choose Century Park because of its continued commitment to our childrens' education and overall support of their well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

We have three children who currently attend Century Park. Next fall, our family will be entering our 7th year at CPLC and we continue to be impressed with the education and experiences our children are enjoying. The staff is involved and supportive on many levels and it helps to build a well-rounded learning environment. Parent and family participation is also encouraged and helps to further a positive social and educational experience. We are very grateful for the opportunity to participate at Century Park. Many thanks for all that you do for our kids and community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

We have had all three of our children attend Century Park since the day it opened. We have lived in many places in this country, but the staff in this school are truly dedicated to ALL children. The building was built on the premise that ALL children can be successful, and the staff completely embraces that tenet. The multiage philosophy and extended learning opportunities are just one example of how staff focus on the unique needs of their learners. I recommend this school often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

Some of the teachers are decent. Several are not. Bullying based on clothes kids wear, financial status, etc is rampant in this school but the administration does nothing to stop it. Teachers do not give extra help to students in need. Yet they give preferential treatment to students whose parents contribute financially to the school. Explain to me how students are able to miss 15 consecutive school days for a family vacation. Upon their return they are not required to make up the work they missed and it has no impact on their grades. Yet some students who have missed less time for legitimate medical reasons have their files turned over to the truant officer and are not allowed to make up the work. We brushed off our 1st child's complaints as the usual whining about school. But when our 2nd and 3rd child had the same complaints we looked into it. Discussions with other parents whose kids had the same problems opened our eyes. There is a demarcation line and it is drawn between the "Haves" and the "Have Nots". If you are a "Have" then your child will likely do well. If you are a "Have Not" you had better be aware of the issues facing your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

Too bad the kids like to bully each other alot and some of the teachers and the Principal do not do much about it. Sure, they have "Be Nice" t-shirts and talk about bullying but the playground supervisors and some of the teachers shrug some kids off as just complaining again, mine included. And the Transportation dept never pays attention to what is going on on the bus. My kid shouldn't get bullied on the bus, at the bus stop or at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

We have done a great deal of research on area schools and districts and are still thrilled with our choice to send our children to Century Park. All children have opportunities to expand their horizons and actively participate in field trips, community events, extracurriculars and unique learning experiences. The staff and administrators are engaged in creating a positive learning experience for the children and communicate with parents often. We strongly feel our teachers go above and beyond and it shows. The level of involvement and support from the parent community is also top-notch. BIG thumbs up for CPLC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2011

This school was a terrible experience for my child. The parents were very annoyed that my child was culturally different, and pressured the principal to persecute and my child in many ways. The sad thing is that she agreed! The children at this school believe that they are better than anyone of another color or background. Many children have been removed from this school for this reason, including mine. My advice: Don't send your child there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

This is a good school with great professional staff, but it serves a population that is very lacking in diversity. The parents have a lot of power and do not embrace children who have not enjoyed the priviledges their kids have had. All of the students are exactly the same, and unless children with differences feel more accepted, the students at Century Park will be deprived of a valuable lesson that everyone is not just like them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

We have had 4 children attend CPLC over the past 6 years. Our fifth child will enter in the fall. We are very pleased with all aspects of the school. The multiage classrooms have been wonderful. CPLC continually monitors the effectiveness of this teaching style. In fact, CPLC has revised the multiage classrooms at the upper elementary level to be individual classrooms. The teaching staff is wonderful. As a parent it is wonderful knowing that whatever teacher your student is placed with, it will be a good experience for them. The principal is great. She strives to know the individual needs of all families. This is one of the reasons she has received multiple awards and honors for her leadership qualities. Lastly, the parents of CPLC children are very involved. Many parents put forth a great amount of effort for the benefit of all students. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful elementary school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

CPLC is our second elementary school and our first with a multi-age learning environment. Children may be in a class of 40 with 2 teachers and 2 or 3 different grade levels of kids. The interaction between the children is amazing and the multi-levels really do work. Last year my daughter appreciated the extra attention and an older second grade 'buddy'. This year she gets to fill those shoes. It has been wonderful to see her grow and mature. There are countless activities for all ages and kids of all interests. Parental involvement is crucial and it is so easy to be involved - even for the working parent. I couldn't be happier with CPLC or the amazing staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I have three childern at this school. Two are high achievers and one is at the normal range. THis school is not just for the high achievers. Everyone at every level coul do wonderfully here. I am very happy with this type of format for learning. Great Job Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My son started school this year at Century Park, it was hard for him at first the teachers at the school were very kind and caring, they really did do their best to put the children first and make them feel safe and welcomed. I think Century Park is a great place for your 3yr. old to start school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I have two children who attended Century Park grades 3-5 and two younger children who will also attend Century Park. We chose Grandville Public Schools for our children, after researching other school districts. We relocated to Grandville with very high expectations. Century Park Learning Center was just opening and ended up being the school we chose to send our children to. It has been a wonderful experience for us. We have lived in other districts, and have other elementary schools to compare to Century Park Learning Center, and what makes this school different is not the wonderful new building or the technology and resources available to the students. It is by far the excellent teachers and staff who have made Century Park stand ahead of the rest. They are so dedicated to the education of our children. It's not just a job to them. We couldn't be more satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Asian 4% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
African-American 2% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tonia Shoup
Fax number
  • (616) 254-6823

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5710 Kenowa Ave Sw
Wyoming, MI 49418
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 254-6821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bursley School
Jenison, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT