Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Ypsilanti, MI
Students enrolled: 795
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Arbor Charter Academy 1

Posted November 15, 2014
- a community member
Any 'school' that doesn't know the difference between a selfless Hero and a self-serving, narcissistic celebrity is UNFIT to teach the children who will become our future!
1 person found this helpful

South Arbor Charter Academy 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
If you want your young and impressionable child indoctrinated into left-wing liberalism, then this is the school for you. Just check out their "Hall of Heroes"...pathetic!
1 person found this helpful


South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Staff is so nice and helpful. I like the school because of so many reasons.
1 person found this helpful

South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
Our son attended South Arbor for kindergarten, but we are in process of moving to another state. We would have no hesitation about continuing at South Arbor if were staying in Michigan. The things we like most about South Arbor: 1) There is a sense of community and shared responsibility for educational and social outcomes. 2) Staff throughout the building are committed and resourceful. 3) Older children tend to look after younger children, in contrast to behavior we sometimes encounter on local playgrounds. 4) Academic progress is obviously a priority. 5) I was skeptical of the school's moral focus, but have been impressed with the ideals that our son has taken to heart. 6) Parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed. 7) The student body is racially and culturally diverse. Our son has grown tremendously, both socially and academically over the past year. He likes going to school (and he was not a fan of preschool) and has come to believe that his education is important. I wish I had a complaint to make my review more plausible, but I h honestly don't. South Arbor is better than winning the lottery.
1 person found this helpful

South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is outstanding! The academics are clearly the best in Washtenaw County, and it has shown in MEAP scores every year. MAP scores are excellent as well, often scoring above the 90th percentile nationally. The school has involved parents as well. All of this combined makes for high standards for academics, athletics, band, orchestra, athletics, and art. I highly recommend the school!
1 person found this helpful


South Arbor Charter Academy 4

Posted March 13, 2010
- a community member
This last review is ridiculous. This school is challenging and the teachers are very clear and make it easy to learn. Students don't fall asleep and if they do, it's not from boredom but from being sleep deprived. Students are very intelligent. Even ones in standard and basic. Map scores are amazing. And if you are complaing about South Arbor's grades, you should take a look at other local schools. South Arbor is great and teachers are yes, talented.

South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
It is interesting to read all the reviews. My boy is in the proficient classroom, and they are challenged to try their best. Some parent was saying 'they only move students up if it is an 'extreme situation.''. This is not true. In a given grade, all the students in all 3 classes take the same test once a year in Spring and the school rearrange the 'proficient, standard, basic' classroom base on the testing scores. If you child get higher score then the ones in proficient classroom, he/she will get moved up automatically. This is the standard process and it happens every single year, not just an 'extreme situation'. Number don't lie.

South Arbor Charter Academy 3

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
It is believed that South Arbor is a school full of incredibly intelligent students and incredibly educational teachers, that is false. There are ocasionally talented teachers, but mostly the instructors are pedagogues who only like the attention of a room. While the teachers are lecturing, the students are falling asleep from boredom because they already know the process or the teacher does not explain it clearly yet still gives assignments on the topic. Some students may be intelligent, but mostly the basic and standard classes are overflowing and the proficient students are receiving lower, and lower grades. I had to remove my child for academic reason because she was not being challenged as they only move students up if it is an 'extreme situation.' I would not recomend this school. Try Canton.


South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Arbor Charter Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Arbor Charter Academy
8200 Carpenter Road, Ypsilanti, MI  48197
(734) 528-2821
Last modified South Arbor Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Arbor Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top