Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Arbor Charter Academy 2

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
High stakes standardized testing seems to be most important, even at primary grade levels. High student teacher ratio does not allow students to receive the attention they need.

South Arbor Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
There is nothing overwhelming about the teachers at this school. Some are great, some are not, much like anywhere you go.


South Arbor Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Homework is not long but it is "busy work" and I wonder what value students are getting out of it.

South Arbor Charter Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I think they try to foster these things, but constant testing and negativity works against them!

South Arbor Charter Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I have seen some teachers do well with fostering respect while others take more punitive approaches.


South Arbor Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Because of the strong moral focus within the curriculum of this school I believe it helps foster morals.

South Arbor Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
A strong moral focus helps foster these concepts. It is integrated in the curriculum which helps reinforce it.

South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
I have three students at South Arbor and can only say great things. We have involved families, nice students, and impressive teachers and administrators. This school has a safe environment where kids can achieve. I recommend it to everyone!


South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of two former South Arbor students. We transferred this past year to the top rated Ann Arbor schools due to overwhelming pressure from family, friends and teachers (in AAPS) suggesting my children are missing out on better opportunities offered in the Ann Arbor Schools. This includes academics, extracurricular, teacher/staff support and social interactions. After a few months in AAPS I've come to realize the exceptional education, supports and overall quality of friends my children had at South Arbor that can not begin to compare to AAPS. With that and being said we will be returning to South Arbor in the fall. Also to show I am not bias, sill living in Ann Arbor, I grew up going to the best AAPS. Things are not the same in public schools as they were when I was a kid. I want the best for my children and South Arbor is the best choice these days.

South Arbor Charter Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
South Arbor Charter Academy is an awesome school. My daughter attended a public school in grades K-4th but got extremely behind in terms of academics achievement. She has been at South Arbor for a year and a half and has improved tremendously! They are very serious about academics and do whatever it takes to help EVERY student be successful and at grade level.

Nearby schools

South Arbor Charter Academy
8200 Carpenter Road, Ypsilanti, MI  48197
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (734) 528-2821
Last modified South Arbor Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top