Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rawsonville Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

The classrooms are overcrowded with no teacher aids or paraprofessionals. There are 30 kids in a class. My child's class was out of control. My child struggled to learn and the teacher had too many other children with high needs to be of adequate help. The office staff were disrespectful and rude. My child became depressed and frequently made remarks about being a bad and dumb kid once starting this school. My child was frequently bullied by other children and the school did not do enough to stop it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

This is one of the worst schools that my child has ever been to. The teachers do not listen to you when you tell them that your child needs more help. If you want your child to thrive & achieve consider any other school but this one! My child struggled with reading, I told them that I thought she might be dyslexic. They claimed every thing was ok that she just need a little extra help, so I just worked with her more with some tips for dyslexic children & she started to improve & it showed on her report card too. Then the teacher mentioned she was struggling & wanted to put her in the "no child left behind program" I said okay because I thought the extra help would be good, that was a big mistake! I started to notice my daughters personality change dramatically she became shy & withdrawn, she started to hate school & didn't fit in with her class mates & would come home crying almost everyday. (She has always been confident, bubbly & never had trouble making friends so this was disturbing to see her change & become so sad.) No child should be made to feel this bad about them self's. The teachers need to focus on helping the child, not harming them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

I attened Rawsonville when Mrs. Green was Principal and it was a great school my younger sister as well went there but now that my brothers are there with the new principal Mrs Smith the school is horrible! Most the teachers are great but since this new principal alot has changed for one if a child is late for any reason including doctors appt they do not allow your child to have hot lunch just a cheese sandwich and milk not the cooks but the lunch ladies are rude and disrespectful there are reports of them putting there hands on the children. The office staff like Mrs Cobb is so rude and mean to the children i have seen her yelling at many. If your child is sick forget about them calling home Mrs Cobb sends them back to class. It is very unorganized i have waited a while while staff and even the principal have walked right past me. Lastly forget having anything handled by the principal she does not care you go to her and she of course backs the staff and she also sent a friend of mines son home because his hair was blue for the lions said he could not come back till it was out of his hair and u can not change a class principal wont allow it! Stay away from Rawsonville!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

They put bureaucracy ahead of making sure children excel. When asked if a child can switch classes because they seem genuinely unhappy in their current situation the principal informed us that it was not possible as classes are balanced by race. It's been terrible watching my child struggle after doing so well previously with another teacher and after reaching out getting no assistance from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

I agree with the parent who stated that kids can leave with any person..ID ARE NOT CHECKED!! As a single parent, who's last name does NOT match my child..everytime I have ever picked up my child..I have NEVER been asked to show my ID even when my child had no clue that I was going to pick him up!! SHAME!!! My son's father is NOT on my son's release forms...but my son would come to him openly.. His father has NO rights to him. This scares me that my child father or wife could just come and pick him up and check him out of school. GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER AND CHECK IDS VS RELEASE FORMS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I also strongly agree with the parent who submitted input regarding bias's towards a parent,particularly with principal Susan Farber and attempting to communicate and getting stable answers from her or anybody in the office is impossible.Although I have observed that certain staff are interested as well as involved,Im not convinced the kids are being academically taught to the ability needed.It especially caught my attention when I reviewed what my nephew who attends a different district already learned in a grade a year behind my kids.If I had the choice at present,my kids would not be attending this school.They do not have the stamina or the resources for what the children deserve.Do your studying and check out the districts high schools for mind blowing evidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

there are not enough sports , the children can walk away from the school at the end of the day with anyone because there isn't any one paying attention. All the teachers have been great as far as on a person to person basis. But I feel the kids to be more challenged then what they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

All four of my children have attended Rawsonville Elementary and I have always been extremely satisifed with the education they have received from very dedicated staff members. Mrs. Green the principal, is a wondefully concerned principal with a true gift of understanding each and every student in that school. I would highly recommend Rawsonville to anyone who asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

As a non-custodial parent, I have been very disappointed with the uncopperative attitude and level communication at this school. Although polite, the principal has diplayed extreme bias and does not give direct answers to direct questions. I do not receive the feedback I have repeatedly requested from administration and am treated very poorly and with suspicion. My child is not given the opportunities to advance that he is in need of and he does not feel remotely challenged. My input regarding this matter has been entirely disregarded. The music and phys ed programs and teachers are excellent, and the classroom teachers seem good enough. They have little to work with, however. They too have been difficult to reach and reserved in their communication with me. I am not pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Having moved from out of state, I have been very happy with this school and the way my children have adapted to it. They have had a really good experience and so I would recommend this school. The staff is very intrested in the kids and that helps a lot. Mrs. Green the principal is a very friendly lady and I appreciate her devotion to making the school a great place for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I believe this school has what it takes to keep students not only involved but interested in work. The staff overall helps students reach their full potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 51% 18%
White 42% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karensa Smith
Fax number
  • (734) 482-3306

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3110 South Grove Street
Ypsilanti, MI 48198
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 482-9845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Erickson Elementary
Ypsilanti, MI


Forest School
Ypsilanti, MI



Global Tech Academy
Ypsilanti, MI



St. Anthony Academy
Belleville, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT