Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willow Run High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

I graduated from Willow Run and the school is one of the worst I ever been to. The students are wild and disrespectful, not fearing consequences and the staff and teachers have no control over anyone. Students sneak off and leave whenever, a lot of them cheat on assignments and even tests. There were fights every week at least, and when I was in middle school, at least every day. The teachers don't show any care and very few of them are good at teaching and being proactive. The principal at the time did not care about the students and was barely ever at the school. The school is not safe, the students are bored and disrespectful. Don't send your kid there please.


Posted February 1, 2013

This school has a great community behind it and the kids and teachers work very well together. The sports are not the best but they are getting up there I would really recommend sending your kids to Willow Run.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

Willow Run Community Schools are great! And Willow Run made a wrong desicion when they chose to shut down Kettering Elementary. That school has great exellence and it's hard to see them go.


Posted May 22, 2009

This school is the worst school I've ever been too. The kids there are horrible and meany of them are mean and un-caring. The teachers take little or no intrest in you. They demote teachers that are/were needed. Mr. Hall was an excellent teacher. He teaches well and about things that matter. Mr. Canty, Mr. Sanders, and Ms. Lambert are also good teachers. Danny England, the jantor, deseves to be a security Gaurd. He's aswome and is very kind.


Posted May 3, 2006

Willow Run is an excellent school with excellent teachers and awesome coaches who care about the whole student becoming a responsible adult. I just wish parents would become more involved in their children's lives and take a proactive approach in communicating with the teachers and staff. Everytime I contact a teacher the call and/or email is always returned which ensures good communication between myself and my child's teacher. By keeping in communication with your child's teachers ensures your child can't 'pull' one over on you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Willow Run has some great teachers who really care about the students and are working hard to make the school a great place to learn. The staff is striving to meet the needs of each of their students, and they are working with students, parents, and the community to do this.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2005

I graduated from Willow Run in 2004. Like others have said it is really what you make of it. There are AP classes to challange students as well as honors classes. there are many extracurricular activities to take part in and enjoy. The students have to want the education themselves and learn what teachers will be of most help when it comes to their future. Yeah some classes are easy and you don't have a lot of homework, but some classes are hard and you have lots of homework. I graduated in the top 10 of my class with a 3.7 GPA. Overall its a great school, I loved it. If I had the choice to pick another school, I would still pick Willow Run. I am now in college and I feel as if I was defintely prepared. - Elessa
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2005

I am a student attending willow run high school and I believe willow run is a great place to go to school. It's a tight family type of setting so you're not afraid to go to school everyday, kids aren't afraid to ask questions in class, and most kids are getting great grades... so to let those other people know please don't judge our school if you don't attend,Thank you
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2005

Both my brother and I graduated from Willow Run Schools (1995/2001); I'll tell you that the old reputation is no longer standing. Willow Run High School got a bad reputation in the late 1970's and early 1980's for violence and poor race relations. Almost none of that is still there. While I was attending the high school there were no more than 3 fights a year, mostly involving freshman. The only leftovers from its past race problems are the teachers that were students then and came back to teach. The only things Willow Run is lacking are a variety of classes, the school is just too small, Parent Involvement, and some extracurricular activities, they have Hockey but not Soccer. So I encourage you to go up to the school, talk to the teachers, they WILL be honest with you about what the school has and needs. They Are Amazing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2005

Willow Run high school is a postitive place for kids. I am a student there, and teachers do give long research papers thank you very much, and we are getting new math classes that are AP and more advanced math classes. With the new leadership that is comming into Willow Run High, I think that Willow Run high school test scores will come up. And even though everyone is titled to their own opinion, if you are not a student at the high school now, then don't judge us, bcause Willow Run is the best place for a student to get their education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2004

I graduated from Willow Run High School in 1990. My graduating class was the first to go all the way through the new high. I love the Willow Run Community School District;, however I wish that more emphasis was placed upon me to go to college. I do not remember anyone pushing me to apply for college or even take the SAT's. I rarely had any homework and it was all very easy when I did. I learned more in Junior High than did in high school. I know that I should not blame the school completely, because good parenting is also a big part in whether or not a student will go to college. The school should still be a great resource to encourage students and their parents to pursue a higher education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2003

Three of my children have graduated from Willow Run High School and one is currently a senior there. I believe the school provides an excellent education to students who take their classes and education seriously. Not enough students take the College Prep classes and/or the AP classes. For the most part, they are not challenging enough, have very little homework and do not prepare kids for work they will need to do in college. I would like to see more emphasis on college prep and more encouragement started in the elementary level to encourage these kids to go to college or at least give it a try. I'm not sure kids are adequately prepared to do the long research papers required in college nor is there enough math emphasis in the district. That said, I believe the high school has some great, very committed teachers who enjoy working with the kids and seeing them grow. I think there could be more more parental support and community support. The school is really what the student makes of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

83%

Average ACT score

15

Graduation rate

65%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 66% 18%
White 26% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kelly Webb
Fax number
  • (734) 481-8185

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 Spencer Ln
Ypsilanti, MI 48198
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 961-6003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT