Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Estabrook Elementary

Public | 2-6 | 532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2012

I grew up with the current principal - in Ypsilanti. I was in the same graduating class as her long time husband. Good people. Good family. Estabrook is in great hands. I'm sure the teachers and staff reflects the high standards and fine character as that of my friends. Lisa Argenziano


Posted February 22, 2010

Amazing school! The plethora of extra activities helps students find what they like and what they are good at. Not all students want to be in Oratorical Society but many like Student Council, Chess Club or any of the other after school activities offered. There is something for everyone. Parents are welcomed and opinions valued. The principal has an open door policy, and a listening ear to all parents, teachers, and students - the needs of the child and his/her education is foremost in the minds of administrators. Also, I have not heard of bullying in any sense of the word - perhaps I have been spared, but I feel confident should a problem arise, it would be addressed appropriately. Once again, amazing school and dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

The school is better than most in Ann Arbor where my son went last year. Great selection and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The staff at Eastabrook where wonderful!! They really care about the success of our youth. Some my son's best school memories were there with the wonderful teachers and staff. My son loved the diverse population of students. Go Eastabrook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love the kids that got to Estabrook as they show a lot of pride in their school through fundraisers and sports programs. Estabrook school is a great part of Ypsilanti!


Posted April 29, 2008

Although Estabrook does seem like a wonderful school at first, it does not prepare kids for middle school at all. My daughter graduated Estabrook with great grades and at the top of her class. I was shocked to learn that she was not taught all of the Michigan Standards. The school also has a lot of bullying and fighting. Overall, I think Estabrook is not a good choice of school, so do your kids a favor and make a change for the best before it is too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

Estabrook is a wonderful school. My daughter has been going there for 2 years and I think it was the best decision that my wife and I have ever made. Estabrook won the MI 'Blue Ribbon Award' for education in 2007. This school is definitely worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

What a great school! I transferred my daughter there last year after a difficult experience at a nearby elementary school. We could not be happier with the quality of Estabrook's academic program, the wealth of extracurricular activities, professionalism of the staff, and the guidance and safety they provide for the students. The pricipal, Pat DeRosset, is very involved and accessible. There is a very diverse student body and differences are celebrated. Any behavioral problems, such as bullying, are immediately addressed. I would highly recommend this school to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 62% 18%
White 23% 69%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian 0% 1%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Karla Graessley
Fax number
  • (734) 221-1903

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1555 West Cross St
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 221-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fortis Academy
Ypsilanti, MI



Adams STEM Academy
Ypsilanti, MI


Carpenter School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT