Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fortis Academy

Charter | K-8 | 651 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ypsilanti

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

My child really likes this school. The teachers are supportive and there is a good environment for learning. I have never had a concern that was not promptly addressed and I feel the school is well ran. I plan on sending my younger child to this school when she goes to kindergarten as well since we have had a good experience there so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

My children have both gone to Fortis since kindergarten. My daughter is now in eighth grade and my son in third. Only my daughter has ever had a teacher leave mid year, once in kindergarten when the teacher's family moved out of state and the other this year due to pregnancy. The teachers and staff have always been nice, informative and kept us in the loop with what is going on with our children. They have worked with us to help our kids in many ways. Both of my kids are adhd and have been though the special education system at Fortis. My daughter was in special ed until fourth grade and my son is currently still receiving services. They saw my son needed more help in the classroom in kindergarten and they hired on an au para to be with him while he was at school to help him stay focus and to keep him from wandering off unsafely. She was phased out last year as he no longer needed her. Both my kids exceed their grade academically. Last year my daughter was bored to be repeating the same high school algebra she did in sixth grade yet the teacher worked with us on this and this year they are doing advance algebra and geometry. I always recommend Fortis to others and will continue to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

Fortis Academy is an exceptional school with dedicated Teachers and Staff. The adjustable curriculum and nurturing atmosphere sets a parents mind at ease, all the while, providing a comfortable learning atmosphere for students. They cater to both the needs of the children and parents and preach parental involvement within the school, which lends itself to open and invaluable lines of communication between all involved. Whether it is a friendly wave at the beginning or end of the day, or the maximized effort they put forth to provide answers and solutions to potential problems, Fortis is a school that stands head and shoulders above the rest. With further emphasis put on integrity and morals, Fortis Academy delivers far beyond a quality education, providing developmental tools that last a life time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Fortis is a great school, my grandchildren have gone there for a total of nine years. The teachers are dedicated to the students and the curriculum fits the individuals needs. The principal is proactive and on top of everything that is going on in the school. I love the moral focus emphasis. The staff is also wonderful, You always feel special when you enter the school.


Posted December 4, 2013

So I can certainly identify the REAL reviews on Fortis Academy compared to the fictious one's created by whomever has the time and energy to make up such nonsense. My daughter started attending Fortis Academy as a Kindergarten the year it opened. Last year she graduated from Fortis as an 8th grader and has been extremely successful so far in high school. Fortis created a structured environment for her to stive in. She learned valuable life lessons along the way also. Not only was she academically prepared for high school, but socially as well. Fortis Academy and National Heritage Acadmies in general are a GREAT option for parents and students. I also have a 5 year old that will be attending National Heritage Academies this fall - I am confident that she will also get a great education and the tools necessary to successfully navigate through high school and college! Fortis Falcons Fly High!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

This school is like an experiment..students DO NOT get an education here. teachers are rude and inexperienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Fortis was supposed to be a quality alternative to Ypsi public schools, but that is pure hype. My child was here for two years before I realized how much more her friends were learning at their regular Ypsi schools, and I got her back into a good school that has teachers who know how to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Teachers at this school have no idea how to teach. I was able to observe several teachers on several occasions, and repeatedly saw them administer mindless busy work that was unchallenging, repetitive, and rife with errors. The school prefers to hire inexperienced teachers to save money, which is great until they're teaching YOUR child. Avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

I have two children at Fortis and we have been here for 3 years and will be returning in the Fall. I recommend this school to everyone I speak with. In the past 3 years, I have NEVER heard of a teacher change part way through the year. All of the teachers we have had are professional and have taught my kids respect and responsibility. Parents that do not like the structure and discipline usually have the children that need the discipline. They do not want to except that their children are not perfect and that they are the most disrespectful. They have the option of leaving, as they eventually do, but then want to be the victim. Don't poison other peoples view of the school just because you wont discipline your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Fortis has an excellent new Principal who has made it his mission to make this school the best in the area. It can't be done overnight but he has put Fortis on the road to perfection. From reconfiguring administration and teacher accountability (and perfecting drop off/pick up), to enhancing parental involvement and following more strict behavioral protocols. Fortis now has more free/after school events and sports than ever before. Teachers and parents are ensured the tools they need to focus on what's important: The success of the children. Administration and teachers have heightened their focus on relationships with the parents/families. Fortis recognizes the importance of parental involvement and expects parents and families to be involved in their child's education. Staff want to work with the parents in an effort to maximize their child's educational experience. Those who are not comfortable with this community model for education have chosen other schools but by and large, it has been well received. Test scores and child/parent/staff morale have never been higher. Fortis Falcons: Fly High!


Posted September 6, 2012

I had 2 children previously attending. They were in the procificent classes, due to the excellent teachers. However, the administration, parking mess, and constant changes every year, we pulled our children out and they now attend a different NHA school. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

Although last year was a bit rough for my student with some teacher changes, I have high hopes for the upcoming school year. All of the teachers are awesome and the new principal seems very engaged and devoted to improving all that he can. The parking lot can be a struggle but it seems to mostly be the result of parents who choose to not follow directions. Over all I think Fortis is better than where my student was previously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I used to have three kids going here. Then my oldest went on two high school. She said nothing she did in fortis has prepared them for high school.this year in middle school they had at least five teacher changes . None of them knew what was going on and they didn't teach at all. So we switched him into a diffreng school we have a son in first grade and are planning on rewmoving him. The parking SUCKS!!!! My son gets out at threes and we get him three fourty. when people see the car rush and probaly think its a good school but It's not the education sucks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

My son has been attending fortis for years. This year there is a new principal and alot of instant change has been placed on the children. The teachers for the most part are great. I think some of the deans as well as the principal need to get more educated on diversity and they need attitude adjustments. Instead of always being so fast to suspend children they need to get to the bottom line and help them. I am a teacher myself and there is a lot going on that is unacceptable and at the moment I'm very unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Great school- 3 years and counting. Families who leave do so because thier children are behavior problems and the administration wont put up with it. I like that they teach character skills and measure student growth to determine the progress each year. This is better than local private schools- we know! Waiting list is growing- hope NHA keeps opening more schools! We need them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Nice school to work at, Im impress with my team! All teachers have a real drive to serve students and have a positive impact in life outlook. Our favorite parents are the ones who will come in and get involved. Parents are so important, please invest time in your kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2011

I have three children that attended Fortis. After three years I finally allowed them to switch over to Ann Arbor public schools. There is no comparison. Fortis is a school still in it's infancy. The teaching staff is relatively inexperienced and lacks diversity. If you are not in the Ann Arbor school district, South Arbor is a very good choice. They have a waiting list for this reason. The building itself is very limited. There is no lunchroom( the children have to eat in their classrooms) or auditorium. The school has outgrown it's infrastructure. The drop off and pick up is painful to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

I went to this school a few years ago, and honestly, it isn't too bad. Other than the fact that their sports program isn't too strong, the school teaches disclipline and organization, which is needed for whatever high school you will attend. A nice school to consider, despite the slightly crowded conditions.


Posted March 24, 2010

This school is wonderful! my daughter has been attending Fortis for 3 years and each year she has grown academically and morally! The staff are incredible, including the secretaries, the principle, the deans, and all the teachers! I spend quite a bit of time volunteering and I have found this school to go above and beyond expectation! I appreciate the pro-active attitude the Fortis staff has with every situation. They are continually looking for ways to improve every area! Amazing school! I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Our 2 kids attend this school. our experience has been great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 45% 18%
White 28% 69%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Multiracial 10% 2%
Asian 7% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ira Kleiman
Fax number
  • (734) 572-5792

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3875 Golfside Dr
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 572-3623

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carpenter School
Ann Arbor, MI


Estabrook Elementary
Ypsilanti, MI



Pittsfield School
Ann Arbor, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT