Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Anoka, MN
Students enrolled: 1,851

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anoka Middle School For The Arts 2

Posted October 11, 2011
- a community member
First thing first, this school is huge. Due to budget cuts, two years ago, Fred Moore abd Sandberg merged into one school. The Dandverg building is over 100 years old, therefore has high upkeep costs. So they shut it down and moved all the students to Fred Moore. But there's no eay they could all fit into that building. So they shut down a local elementary school, (Wahington) and put all yhe sixth graders there. Both campuses are extremely overcrowded. The staff is nice, but it's hard to attention from them. And our new mascot is really lame. We're the cyclones, while anoka high is the tornadoes. It is an arts school, so why can't the administrators have a little creativity? Yeah, the whole arts thing is great, but taking one drawing class isn't going to turn me into an artist. And theater? Give me break. I gave up trying to get into a play after my fourth audition. And I did pretty good. So unless your child has tons of experience and a deep passion for theater, don't expext anything. The whole system is just really messed up.

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a student
Fred Moore is awesome we are a center for the arts !!!And That is Unique.We also have Great teachers I love Fred Moore


Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted April 12, 2009
- a student
I like Fred Moore it gives me a chance to show my skills in the performing arts.


Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a student
I comes home so happy and I am so in shape!!

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
FMMS Center for the Arts has appeared to be a success in consideration of the transition to an Arts focused public institution. The academic performance hasn't suffered and the arts are guiding the students to a new level of cooperative learning. I think that it is a model for the future of education. The correlation of the mixed curriculum is encouraging and my wife and I support every effort they make to bring their issues and successes to the community. Kudos to District 11 for making this move!

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Anoka Middle School For The Arts 4

Posted August 28, 2006
- a parent
This school is Awesome! The teachers and principal were very supportive of my daughter this past year. I would highly recommend this school!

Anoka Middle School For The Arts 5

Posted September 28, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anoka Middle School For The Arts
1523 5th Ave South, Anoka, MN  55303
(763) 506-5000
Last modified Anoka Middle School For The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anoka Middle School For The Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top