Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scott Highlands Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Again you have the tenured teachers teaching not the best teachers teaching in their areas of strength.

Scott Highlands Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Its about right as far as homework, the teachers aren't always teaching in the areas they belong because the union makes the district use tenured teachers over the best teachers, but that's true every where.


Scott Highlands Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Yes because the bullying is so bad. Sensitive and intelligent kids will be smothered here.

Scott Highlands Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Respect of what? IDK... I don't see any among the students. Sorry ,but a lot of trash thanks to the city and the housing that was brought in.

Scott Highlands Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Unless you put your kid in a Christian school they are not going to get this. It's simple survival. This is a parents job people in the real world.


Scott Highlands Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
The majority students don't get this at home and the few that do are smacked down by the trash around them. I know some try speak up but bullies run it. So many parents have their heads in the sand.

Scott Highlands Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful teachers and community. I see a review on this site complaining about a bullying incident that made the news. I saw that particular news report and it was one-sided (the other family was not there to defend themselves & there are 2 sides to every story). Regardless, staff and atmosphere are top notch. School district 196 has a wonderful reputation.

Scott Highlands Middle School 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
my son often complains about his experiences when he gets home. i also saw the video on fox 9


Scott Highlands Middle School 2

Posted October 19, 2014
- a community member
I personally did not have a fantastic experience with this school myself. It is filled with cliques and stuck up people. The minute you walk in the door on the first day you are given your placement on how popular and 'cool' you look to others. If you aren't involved in sports and athletics you are already practically shunned by half the school. Certain extremely popular people run the school and can even hold the teachers on a leash occasionally. The staff can be very good, but many of them care little about the student or their education. Some teachers alone can make your time there miserable. I am on my third year here and have already witnessed one fight and have heard of a couple more that have happened out of my watch. Though harassment (both physical and emotional) happens, 'bullying' itself is pretty rare, but that's usually as long as you (general you) accept the place you've been given compared to everyone else. 'Welcoming' and 'friendly' are not exactly the terms I'd use to describe the people here.

Scott Highlands Middle School 4

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
SHMS appears to have great resources available. My child just started attending this school last week and I was surprised to find in her school view account that she already has one tardy for getting to a math class late on the second day of class! She's still trying to adjust to the changes from elementary to middle school especially getting to different classes within a short notice. Newcomers beware.

Nearby schools

Scott Highlands Middle School
14011 Pilot Knob Rd, Apple Valley, MN  55124
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (952) 423-7581
Last modified Scott Highlands Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top