Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastview Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2012

As a student at Eastview, I can absolutely say that I do not like this school at all. A lot of the students are stuck up, and there are TONS of cliques and bullying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2011

Eastview was a very bad experience for me. while there i felt to be liked at all you had to have a lot of money or play alot of sports. i felt discouraged to try ut for the plays and such. alot of students there are snobs. i also felt like the teachers were just doing just enough to get paid and really didnt care about us ( the students). i mean there were some phenomenal teachers that got me through the years there. but overall i would not go to this school again if someone paid me but im sure this could change but not for a while.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2011

Eastview has provided me with the best high school experience possible! I am one of those involved in dance team, theatre, and choir! I do not think it is hard to get into if you really "sell and go for it!" Also, the staff is PHENOMENAL and always willing to help any student falling behind! As for the students, although diverse, everyone was very friendly! I open enrolled from ISD194, so I was the new kid. I felt nothing but a welcoming environment with many successful students. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2010

I attended this school for all four years of high school. I will be the first to say there are MANY 'well off' students, which creates certain barriers. However, any reviews that say not having money means not enjoying the school are using this amazing school as a scapegoat for other issues their children or themselves have. Without the support of the staff and teachers, even the principal. I've been in the military for 4 years now, and without the skills I gained for personal developement and leadership from Eastview, I would not have advanced at twice the normal rate. I would move back just so my kids could have the same experience I did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2010

My child, who has been performing outside of school environment, is extremely discouraged from participating in either choir or theater. Strong favoritism. I would not pay to see any of their productions. It only reminds me of the inequities. Dance Tech shows are so much more enjoyable. That is a more welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Wonderful, caring, high expectations, and exceptionally supportive. My children have thrived at this school. Eastview has been listed for many consecutive year as one of the best schools in the country by US New and Newsweek - and there is a very good reason! The teacher make a difference in the lives of their students. A very satisfied mom!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I went to EVHS for two years, and absolutely hated it. Unless you are in AP classes, or a varsity athlete you will not strive well in this school. Yes, academically this school is better than the surroundings, but the teachers are very stand off ish, and the administration is poor. All high schools have cliques and issues involving this, but EVHS does little to none to help new comers fit it. We had one meeting for new kids during my soph. year and i feel like it was more of a pity party then anything else. Theater was impossible to get into unless you knew the director or the choir directors. I would not send my kids to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

This school compared to the other schools ive been at is by far the best for one reason, caliber of student. All of the students here strive to succeed and are encouraged to do so by the teachers. In my opinion this school beats out ant high school a million to one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

Eastview High School is a place about personalizing education, high achievement and supporting while challenging the student. The benefits of a large school with a personal caring staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

This is a school where most of the students and parents are very well off. My daughter is got a 4 on her AP english test, but she ranks in the middle of the class on her GPA. Its a school of overachivers but if you child can survive they are getting great life skills. I expect to do very well on SAT's too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

Eastview, teachers and administrative staff give all its students promise and a great education. It is hard to find a school that better equips its students for the future while simutaneously focusing on their current development. The opportunities afforded to every student are hard to find in most schools around the nation. Eastview truly demands excellence out of each and every student, whether in adacemics, atheltics, or the arts. There is integrity, hard work, and dedication running through the hallways of this school. There are too many great attributes about this school to list them all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2006

At Eastview there are the have's and has even more's. In many schools this creates a pecking order.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

On the whole, it would be hard to find a school as successful as Eastview. The school demands excellence in everything -- academics, arts, everything. Students leave Eastview with school spirit because they can't help but be proud of a school that demands the best out of everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

This is a traditional government mandatory school. A choir teacher there actually told a student who follows Jehovah Witness religion, 'You either need to change your religion or drop choir. You cannot keep excusing yourself from singing the religious songs'! The principal and teacher later denied this, despite several reliable witnesses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Out of all the highschools in our district, Eastview is definatly the best overall. The studens are close and very supportive of their school spirit and they do very well in their classes. They take these four important years very seriously but still manage to have fun, thanks to the great administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

556 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

523 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black90%
Asian98%
Hispanic97%
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Economically non-disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Non-migrant97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Black49%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Economically non-disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

523 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2011.

542 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black47%
Asian85%
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Economically non-disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

All Students66%
Female64%
Male68%
Black38%
Asian86%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Economically non-disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black39%
Asian75%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Economically non-disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Black 8% 9%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 140th St West
Apple Valley, MN 55124
Phone: (952) 431-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tea Alternative School
Apple Valley, MN



Transition Plus
Apple Valley, MN



Dakota Ridge School
Apple Valley, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT