Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley View Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
A growth mindset is a key focus of the school and students are pushed to work hard and develop that desire to do well and work hard.

Valley View Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Never have I met a staff so dedicated to the success of students. Teachers and Administration work hard to meet student needs and provide endless opportunities for learning. The students work hard and create a community of learners.


Valley View Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Special education students are segregated from "regular" students, even when they're in classes together. Even when it comes to placement of lockers. My 8th grader was assigned a locker directly outside the special Ed classroom (which the students knew was a special Ed classroom, which he got bullied about). When my son was in 6th grade, he was told he needed to EARN a locker! He was not able to just have one like all of the other 6th graders.

Valley View Middle School 2

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
I am the mother of a smart boy who wants nothing more than to learn and get a good education that will prepare him for high school and college. He has struggled with depression for many years and instead of working with him and attending to his needs, they have held him back by forcing him to be in a special Ed program and sweeping him under the rug, rather than work with him and for him to reach his full potential. If you have a run of the mill "typical" student who can get by without support and understanding, then maybe this school is an ok choice. I do not recommend sending a kid with any sort of special needs here if you want them to learn anything or be treated as any other kid. They segregate, don't accommodate, and look down upon kids who are already struggling in ways, rather than be supportive and let your kid live up to their full potential and be something more to them than extra money for the school. It's taken until my son being in 8th grade at VVM to finally have them agree to what the professionals who work with my son out of school have been recommending all along. The thing I hate most, by far, is the segregation of the airstream kids and the special Ed kids. How can you move on and be successful when you're pretty much told from the get go that you're dumb and aren't even given the chance to prove yourself?! The biggest mistake I made was enrolling my kid in this school upon moving to Bloomington. I can guarantee that now he has finally (after years of "fighting" with administration on my part) been put on a lower level of special education services, he will not be attending high school in the #271 BLOOMINGTON district. I just hope the education he has received here will be good enough for him to be successful somewhere else.

Valley View Middle School 2

Posted July 16, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are nice, but in all the school is very sexest, and just plain bad. There a class I had in seventh grade the guys in it would yell provocative jokes across the class and the teacher did nothing, but when a female student would whisper asking what the homework was she would get in trouble. Then there was a incident when a male student brought peper spray to school, and was threatening another student with it. All the schoop did was give him I.S.S for a day. They gave it back to him at the end of the day too! Another thing is when we were talking about the Holocaust we watched a video about it. During the video a female student was mocking the people shown in the video. I've personally had multiple bad experience at this school.


Valley View Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
I think this school is THE BEST! I am in NOBEL! Valley View Middle is the only school where you can be in NOBEL. I was even on the news for it. Can ANY other school say that? No. We also had the twins here. Did ANY other school have the TWINS at there school? No. This is why I think it is great. And I'm doing 8th grade math in the 6th grade. Do I sound like they didn't teach me well? I don't think so.

Valley View Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at Valley View and it is my first year here, and this is one of the best schools i have ever been to. This school really is a creativity-sprouting place where you can feel safe and secure and just be yourself! The teachers are very nice, funny people and the students are all kind, loving people with good hearts and smart brains. Even though we might have had a rough past, we have really changed and grown into a fun, learning environment. I always leave with a big smile on my face. I highly recommend this school to parents who want to see their child learn and laugh. :)

Valley View Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at valley view middle school and I have some things to say about all these low ratings and distasteful comments. I am fed up with these stereotypes about this middle school such as drugs bullying and fights, for one they have amazing creative outlets. This school has really changed and the parents are leaving the decision to the students so please...... talk to the principal look at the school for what it is, not a typical middle school but a new learning experience altogether. Teachers, AMAZING. Programs, EVEN BETTER. So please give this school a second chance and a good rating


Valley View Middle School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
I just finished all three years at vvms and it was the worst expierence ever. Bullying while I was there wasnt an issue, but there was so many drugs, fights, and racial "jokes" every single day. That school has a lot of tollerance because most of the kids come from getting kicked out of Minneapolis schools. Bloomington has a lot of poverty and diversity as well which causes a lot of the problems at the school. Teachers aren't bad. The 7th grade odyssey teacher are amazing but the rest were all pretty careless about the students. I wouldnt send your child here if you want them to have a lot of potential for the future.

Valley View Middle School 2

Posted June 26, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school, and I have to say, it wasn't a good experience. I got bullied frequently, and no teacher I told cared. The teachers weren't very nice, and I wasn't a terrible child. Granted, I had a habit of drawing constantly, and I still do, but it was nothing to get too upset over. Over all, not horrible, but still, not good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley View Middle School
8900 Portland Ave, Bloomington, MN  55420
(952) 681-5800
Last modified Valley View Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valley View Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top