Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

CSMA Academy of Fine Arts

Private | K-8 | 40 students

We are best known for acheivement based learning.

 
 

Living in Burnsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

Cyprus Classical Montessori just put on the most amazing event called "Westward Expansion." They actually created a river where the kids could pan for gold and built a life-size covered wagon. Amazing! My son has learned all about pioneer life through washing clothes and hanging them on the line, making butter, dying cloth and numerous other fun activities. The best thing is he also learned how to read in the last few months and is doing addition and subtraction. My husband and I are very busy and find it hard to do extra activities. My son is able to take piano lessons at school. They actually offer a multitude of extracurricular activities. The whole school is set up for learning and care and fun. This has been the best find of a school! He will go on to Cyprus Classical Academy for Elementary school for sure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

Cyprus is more than a school to our granddaughter. It is a place of warmth and security, a source of wonder and well-answered questions, and place populated with people she loves and people who care for her. She began at Cyprus at 2 and a half and is in her second year there. She has blossomed as a student and as a person in her time there. Her teachers are truly caring and gifted people. They've help our little one so very much. I cannot imagine sending her elsewhere. I cannot commend this school strongly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

This school is the perfect example of how all schools should be run - ability based, while developing other talents. My oldest son was bored and unchallenged in public school during his kindergarten year. How could he stay interested when he was reading beyond the 2nd grade level and his writing and math skills far surpassed that of a typical kindergartner? Cyprus has been phenomenal at identifying his abilities and keeping him challenged. No more coloring letters when he should be taught composition and speech, and counting beans when he should be memorizing the times tables. The school works to develop other talents in music and the arts to enhance the whole educational experience and provide brain development. You won't find that in any public school system and very rarely in any other private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

I switched my son from another daycare center to Cyprus Montessori in order to provide him with more academic exposure in preparation for kindergarten, and wow - what a difference that made! He started in March barely knowing his letters and by the end of summer was reading at 2nd grade level! Under the public school system, he would have to wait another year before starting kindergarten (his birthday was shy of the cutoff date by 6 days). Luckily, the school assessed him as being emotionally, socially, and academically ready and allowed him to start kindergarten early. I am glad I didn't wait another year - he is learning so much and has already advanced far beyond the kindergarten level of schoolwork. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

I switched my daughters to this school after homeschooling for a year because I wasn't happy with the local public school. We have been more than impressed with everything about this school. What the kids have learned, how much fun they are having, the teachers, everyone of them knows my children by name. It is a fantastic school and I would tell ANYONE that they would be lucky to send their child to this school. It is a FANTASTIC environment for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

This is an amazing school. My daughter loved all of the teachers and the wonderful enviroment in which she learned. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

This school is so great! We have been at Cyprus since it opened in 2005 and we love it. The teachers create a fun and engaging environment. They have found a great balance of structured learning, play and warmth. It is a school but I also feel like they truly love and care about my child. He is such a smart and amazing little guy - they have taught him so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Our daughter has been extremely happy here. She has changed dramatically in her ability to learn and get along with other children. She puts away her toys and projects after she is done, and she is learning Spanish!!! We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

Fantastic! My four year old is having a great time and is amazing us with what she is learning! The staff is great! I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

The program is fantastic! My child is learning so much and having a great time while doing it. We are so lucky to have found this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Two or more races 13% 2%
Black 5% 9%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Serbian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Serbian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 3:00 pm
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Wallick
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Cyprus Classical Academy
Associations
  • Cyprus School of Music and the Arts (CSMA)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Serbian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Cyprus offers a gifted and advanced curriculum for early elementary including Kindergarten through 3rd grade.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Homeschool
Local public schools
Harriet Bishop Elementary

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13560 County Rd. 5
Burnsville, MN 55337
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 303-5183

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Learners Center
Burnsville, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT