Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Metcalf Junior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
Mr.Orth is hands down the best English teacher ever. He prepares you for the future amazingly well while treating you with utmost respect. He does give a lot of work but you can expect that from him

Metcalf Junior High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
In 9th grade if you are in Mr.Orths class and AP it is way too much work.


Metcalf Junior High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
I strongly agree you can make great friends here in the STEM or honors program. I know because i have many friends who I am close with

Metcalf Junior High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
I have already stated why in my previous review. Certain teachers are not supportive and racist.

Metcalf Junior High School 2

Posted July 17, 2015
- a teacher
If you care about your child's education and well being, you will not send them to this school. It is NOT SAFE. There is gang activity, drug use and sales, fights and bullying, physical and verbal threatening, theft, and property destruction. Students and even teachers don't feel safe at the school. The associate principal allows a certain group of students to get away with bad behaviors with no consequences. He is a horrible administrator who is rude and unprofessional, and has no control whatsoever over the student body. These students are pretty much running the school and creating a horrible learning environment for the ones who are actually serious about their education. The teachers there are great at what they do, and genuinely care, but they get no support from administration. They spend all their time trying to discipline students, and the "good" students are largely ignored. There are so many out of control things that happen at the school - do whatever you can to send your children elsewhere.


Metcalf Junior High School 4

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
i love this school i have so many friends and most the teachers are amazing!!!

Metcalf Junior High School 4

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Metcalf JHS is a safe and well run junior high; many teachers are very good and a few are mediocre. Schools in general are underfunded by the federal and state gov'ts and that is un American and corrupt.

Metcalf Junior High School 4

Posted July 25, 2005
- a teacher
I am both a parent of four children as well as a 7th grade teacher at Metcalf Junior High in Burnsville, Minnesota. Metcalf has had an excellent academic tradition for 30 or more years now. Declining enrollment, budget cuts, and non-funded federal and state mandates have impacted our school negatively the past 5-10 years. Our community has also been changing with older families moving out and newer families moving in. We have a more diverse student population as well now. I love this school and the community. The elementary schools that feed Metcalf are also excellent. Metcalf has a won national championships in chess,has excellent soccer and danceline program, and much more. We recommend Metcalf.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Metcalf Junior High School
2250 Diffley Rd, Burnsville, MN  55337
(952) 707-2400
Last modified Metcalf Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Metcalf Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top