Advertisement
Advertisement

Guardian Angels Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 224 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chaska

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2013

The teachers are exceptional, caring, teach well to all different types of learners and instill Christian values into our children. Very impressed with what our children are learning and the loving, family-type atmosphere that they are experiencing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

So many families have left because it seems that the reasons we originally sent our children to Guardian Angels seems to have gone away... it has become more of a private school (with lots of politics and challenges) than a Catholic school. Disappointing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

12 of 13 of these glowing reviews came within the same few days of each other which should raise some suspicion to the reader. Having experience with this school I can say that it is a nice school, but there are better alternatives, including a very nice (and well-funded) public school option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

Guardian Angels School is a wonferful school with dedicated teachers and staff who belive in Guardian Angels. Many of the teachers and staff's own children attend Guardian Angels or are alumni. Both the school and parish are a loving and faith-filled commnity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2011

I believe the teachers and staff at Guardian Angels are devoted to each individual student's Christian formation, as well as academic excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2011

My two girls attend GA, and when my son is old enough, he will too. The academics are fantastic, but what I really appreciate is that every decision made in the classroom has a purpose. This purpose is to teach the children to make good decisions based on Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

We have sent all 5 of our children to Guardian Angels school and it has been an outstanding experience. Strong sense of Christian values, patriotism and excellent academics are just the beginning. The 3 of our children that have already graduated from GA have gone on to excel in high school and college. The values they have learned at GA from teachers, fellow students and the school community at large are reflected in our kid's active involvement in their community and helping those in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

During our involvement with Guardian Angels, these are the experiences that have impressed us about GA: - Not only have our children always performed well on the standardized tests, but the school as a whole always seems to have higher standardized test scores than the other schools in our area. - My wife and I are really impressed with the catholic - based education our children have received at GA. We feel GA has helped instill a Christian sense of morality in our children that seems to be lacking in so many areas of our society these days. - Whenever our local paper prints the honor roll students for the three high schools in our school district, I always recognize a lot of former Guardian Angels Catholic Grade School Alumni on the lists. My oldest son is currently attending Holy Family Catholic High School. Not so long ago I asked him if he thought the GA experience was worth the time and money. He replied even though I was ready to be out of there at the start of my 8th grade year, I have to admit that GA prepared me well for High School. I knew at that point the GA catholic grade school education was worth every dime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2010

Overall, the catholic and academic education our children receive is among the best. I feel they are totally prepared for high school when they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

We have a first grade student at Guardian Angels and couldn't be happier with the staff and their interactions with the students. Some parents worry about "which teacher" they get assigned - at GA I know that we won't have that concern as all the teachers are well qualified and love to teach. Because it is such a small school - it is easy for the parents to become involved in the school which makes it an even better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

I have been teaching at GA for many years and have always found a lot of love and care here. It feels like family. The relationships between the faculty, administration, and students are terrific. The school also has an excellent academic program along with a strong emphasis on being a Catholic school with teaching about social justice. The small class sizes makes it easier to reach each child and guide them to their full potential. Guardian Angels is a great placed to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 30, 2010

I have been teaching at Guardian Angels for many years and am very proud of the team effort we develop between student, family, and staff, from the preschool years all the way to the eighth grade graduate. We are involved in many community service endeavors from: our annual Rake-a-thon for the elderly, wells in Africa, toy drives, and Operation shoebox es are just a few. i am proud of our Catholic School and feel we are a gem to be involved with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 29, 2010

Our son started school at Guardian Angles in Kindergarten. We looked at many schools both Catholic and other private schools. We chose Guardian Angels for the small class sizes, high test scores, and wonderful Catholic community. We are so happy with our decision. Our son is now in the 2nd grade and he is thriving and loves the school. The school offers Spanish classes at all grade levels which is not something offered in the public schools. The technology at Guardian Angels is incredible. They have something called GA TV where students can participate in daily announcements in a real TV news room setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

We have sent all of our kids to this gem of a school community for the past 12 years. Guardian Angels has done an outstanding job preparing our children academically, socially and spiritually in a safe, caring Catholic/Christian environment. The small class sizes and dedicated/experienced staff are what stands out to us. Our children that have graduated to a college prep high school were very well prepared. The other school families are very involved and friendly. We feel blessed having this school in our community. I would highly recommend it for PreK-8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Because the parents are happy there is such a wonderful school for their children to attend.


Posted May 23, 2008

My children love this school! It is very community oriented and has academics that are second to none. My 5th grader is doing the same work as an 8th grade cousin in the public school system. My children are able to celebrate their faith every day and have respect and compassion for everyone they interact with. I especially like the buddy system that encourages older students to mentor and mingle with younger students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 73%
Hispanic 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 4%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 W 2nd St
Chaska, MN 55318
Phone: (952) 227-4010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT