Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School of Duluth

Private | PK-6 | 75 students

Over 30 years of providing quality Montessori education to the Twin Ports area.
 
 

 
 

Living in Duluth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 20, 2014

The Montessori School of Duluth, located in the Hunter's Park/UMD area of Duluth, is a private, nonprofit, non sectarian school serving 75 students in grades PK -6.

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Our child has attended the Montessori School of Duluth for several years now and we have been very pleased with the quality of education she is receiving! This past year a few parents appear to have had personal issues with the previous administration but our experience, and the experience of numerous other families we have come to know at the school, has been nothing but positive. We are very excited about the changes and new direction and are happy to be part of a school with such a wonderful history and dedication to providing Montessori education to this area! Wonderful, caring teachers and staff and located in a great, safe, quiet residential area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

For years my children loved this school and their teachers but it didn't last. In the end they were coming home crying. Bullying, mean words from staff to the children, and more. The administration is so poor that instead of fixing these problems, they simply cover them up and pretend like nothing is wrong. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

There are/were some good things about this school. At first it seems good, but I can not recommend it. Kids don't come first, the business does. Be very careful not to get on the bad side of the family that runs the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

I am very excited to see that next year the Montessori School of Duluth will have 2 children house rooms again; one of the teachers has been there for a long time, and another will be new and can learn from the other. Montessori is a great way to learn life lessons! This school has been around for over 30 years and has alot of experience behind it. The finances are stable and the location is a beautiful, quiet neighborhood, without much traffic near the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

The Montessori School of Duluth lost 30 + students all at once in the past month and a half.......how good can this school be?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My wife and I never cease to be amazed by the quality of education our children are receiving at the Montessori School of Duluth! Such a wonderful community of engaged parents, passionate and experienced teachers and dedicated staff who all believe in the Montessori method. Our children are excited to go to school, and as parents that speaks volumes to us!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Montessori School of Duluth is a GEM!!!!! My grandsons have gone to this school for years and I've been very impressed with the school and it's staff. It s no wonder that the creators of google and wikipedia and Julia Child were Montessori kids they are innovative and motivated and see no limits to the endless possibilites that lay ahead!


Posted April 18, 2014

I have two kids in the Childrens House. I have seen huge improvements in their language, life skills and social interactions. I have found the administration to be very friendly and accommodating. The teachers are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My 3 year old sons have blossomed at this school, making friends, growing in their independence, becoming better communicators, and gaining practical life skills in the Children's House. The guides and caregivers at the school are invested in my boys and have built trusting kind relationships with them. We have loved watching the boys begin their journey of discovering the world, starting with the supportive and encouraging classroom environment at Montessori School of Duluth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Have been involved with this school for many years, and am excited for the new teacher in the elementary next year. This school is in a nice quiet residential neighborhood. Highly recommend this school for anyone looking for more individualized education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

Such a lovely school. I attended this school as a child and hope to send my own children there some day soon. The children's best interest is always at heart and this is a place where every aspect of a child is encouraged to grow. Duluth is lucky to have this gem.


Posted March 16, 2014

Buyer beware. Montessori education is a wonderful style of education. However, this school is currently under duress and most of the elementary and some children's house families have removed their children due to the unstable circumstances. Very poor leadership skills displayed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

Such an incredible school with an excellent history! Teachers and administrators truly believe in the Montessori method and do an amazing job at creating a warm, safe, and engaging environment for the kids. WIth the recent development of a new school board we are excited to see the school continue to grow! Couldn't be happier with our decision to enroll our children at the Montessori School of Duluth! The education they are receiving is truly unbeatable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

A very special place - our children have attended Children's House and Elementary. It's an authentic Montessori environment with a 30 year history where children are empowered learners & teachers are AMI Certified. Students receive individual attention and gain a strong sense of self and community. We love the quiet neighborhood location, fantastic summer program and have found the 3-Hour AM work cycle extremely effective - our kids learned to read early and can do math 1-2 years above traditional grade level. School leadership has recently expanded and is governed by an independent board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

AMI teachers are terrific and highly dedicated. Our children are inspired and love learning. Strong math instruction. French program is ineffective. School not accredited and roughly follows Montessori pedagogy, 3-hour work cycle gets interrupted. Materials are old and facility is functional at best. Administration is poor and dominated by one family, but may be improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

My son attended the Children's House at this school for 2 school years until we had to move to another state. We can't say enough good things about it. The teachers are outstanding and greatly enhanced our son's learning experience. My son learned to read at the age of 4 and was starting some multiplication as well. Montessori is a great teaching philosophy and this school really utilizes all aspects of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 73%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joel Young
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Montessori School of Duluth is currently undergoing an administrative transition. Our founder has retired and we will welcome our new Head of School this summer. The changes are very exciting and mean great things for MSD! If you are considering our school as a possibility, we strongly encourage you to come and visit!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

313 Mygatt Ave
Duluth, MN 55803
Website: Click here
Phone: (218) 728-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dpsa Esy
Duluth, MN




St Johns School
Duluth, MN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT