Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori School of Duluth

Private | PK-5 | 72 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Duluth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

In March more than 30 students left this school. Why would about half the children going to this school leave mid-year? What's wrong? Call the school and talk to the nice local celebrity they hired to make it all sound good. Talk to the family controlled board, they'll tell you everything will be great next year when a new family member takes over the school. After many years at this school, the key problem that I ve seen is that the school primarily exists to serve the interests of the founder's adult children and grandchildren. The interests of other children simply come behind the interests of the family and the family business. Although this set-up has been detrimental to many over the years, it's not that these are necessarily bad people or that your child cannot have a positive learning experience here. You simply should know how the school actually works and how it could cause you frustration and pain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

Have been involved with this school for many years, and am excited for the new teacher in the elementary next year. This school is in a nice quiet residential neighborhood. Highly recommend this school for anyone looking for more individualized education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

Such a lovely school. I attended this school as a child and hope to send my own children there some day soon. The children's best interest is always at heart and this is a place where every aspect of a child is encouraged to grow. Duluth is lucky to have this gem.


Posted March 16, 2014

Buyer beware. Montessori education is a wonderful style of education. However, this school is currently under duress and most of the elementary and some children's house families have removed their children due to the unstable circumstances. Very poor leadership skills displayed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

Such an incredible school with an excellent history! Teachers and administrators truly believe in the Montessori method and do an amazing job at creating a warm, safe, and engaging environment for the kids. WIth the recent development of a new school board we are excited to see the school continue to grow! Couldn't be happier with our decision to enroll our children at the Montessori School of Duluth! The education they are receiving is truly unbeatable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

A very special place - our children have attended Children's House and Elementary. It's an authentic Montessori environment with a 30 year history where children are empowered learners & teachers are AMI Certified. Students receive individual attention and gain a strong sense of self and community. We love the quiet neighborhood location, fantastic summer program and have found the 3-Hour AM work cycle extremely effective - our kids learned to read early and can do math 1-2 years above traditional grade level. School leadership has recently expanded and is governed by an independent board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

AMI teachers are terrific and highly dedicated. Our children are inspired and love learning. Strong math instruction. French program is ineffective. School not accredited and roughly follows Montessori pedagogy, 3-hour work cycle gets interrupted. Materials are old and facility is functional at best. Administration is poor and dominated by one family, but may be improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

My son has been at Montessori from age 3 and now is in elementary school there. There is such a good community-the kids really know how to value each other, and be able to work independently on items they really want to learn about as well as work with others at different ages without it being a concern. We recommend it to everyone who wants to see their child excel at a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Great teachers and curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

My son attended the Children's House at this school for 2 school years until we had to move to another state. We can't say enough good things about it. The teachers are outstanding and greatly enhanced our son's learning experience. My son learned to read at the age of 4 and was starting some multiplication as well. Montessori is a great teaching philosophy and this school really utilizes all aspects of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 73%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

313 Mygatt Ave
Duluth, MN 55803
Phone: (218) 728-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dpsa Esy
Duluth, MN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT