Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Duluth, MN
Students enrolled: 310

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a community member
i have gone to raleigh edison then washburn and i can say that the teachers take out of their time to help students and now that it is my last year at an edison school i can say ill be ready for high school because of my teachers

Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Great school my son goes there and he loves It so send your son there!


Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
An amazing school, every parent should send their middle school aged child to this school!

Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
Best Middle School in Duluth hands down. Phenomenal teachers and staff.

Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted July 12, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Washburn Junior Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2006
- a parent
I have had one son graduate from Washburn Middle School, and currently have another attending there. The school has done an excellent job preparing my son for high school. He is much better prepared for high school work than many of his peers who attended local district schools. Whether in Spanish, math, language arts, and arts, the teachers and curriculum at Washburn are far and above others in our community. Washburn is a small school, where students and families receive attention and where all needs--academic, social, personal growth-- are met and supported.

Washburn Junior Academy 1

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
I have been both a parent of three students at Washburn and part of the Special Education staff for several years. The other comments here are very accurate. In addition, recently the school has gone through a negative transformation. There has been an exodus of gifted/high students due to the over all low/descending quality of the facility. As a former staff person I also don t consider this school a physically safe place for kids to be. The level of violence and bullying is appalling. Even for special education students, its one previous strength, is no more. Their touted Spanish program is so poor as not to be accepted by the public school system. Salvage your students education and transfer your child if the attend Washburn.


Washburn Junior Academy 3

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Washburn Junior Academy 2

Posted December 27, 2004
- a parent
This school is lacking the structure and discipline needed in order to fullfill their mission and meet their goals. My daughter was harrased by certin group of kids for her 1st 2 days and nothing was done about it after contacting the school, we ended up switching our child to a public school in our district because she was comming home in tears for days.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washburn Junior Academy
201 West St Andrews St, Duluth, MN  55803
(218) 723-2345
Last modified Washburn Junior Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8
Washburn Junior Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top