Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faithful Shepherd Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 582 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Eagan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

This is not just a school, it's a wonderful community! Your child will benefit from: (1) small class sizes (2) dedicated, excellent teachers (3) a high quality education (4) being part of a school community where service & character development are built into the learning environment (5) learning about & acting out our Catholic Faith along with their school friends as part of their daily life. Things it's hard to put a value on - 8th Graders sitting next to Kindergarteners at Mass, 8th graders leading multi-age teams at Track & Field Day, teachers who know your child's favorite book, color & animal, teachers willing to shave their heads for a cause, so many great families working together to help out the school. We researched & toured 4 local schools. We are very happy with the education & learning community at Faithful Shepherd Catholic School! We highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

We love Faithful Shepherd Catholic Scool in Eagan! The teachers and Prinicipal are kind and caring. The Prinicipal actually greets each student outside the front door each morning. Weekly Mass is held each Wednesday morning in the school gym with all 500+ students and dozens of parents in attendance. The school facilities are modern and the school spirit couldn't be better. Many team sports are offered to the students and the school competes against other area Catholic schools. The parents are friendly and very involved in school functions. The school provides several social networking and fundraising opportunities including the annual Septemberfest Rock With The Flock event. Faithful Shepherd is a feeder school to several private High Schools in the area including Cretin Derham Hall, Saint Thomas Academy, Visitation and Holy Angels. We are very pleased that we chose to send our daughter to Faithful Shepherd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

If you are looking for an academically excellent school, loving environment, amazing community of parents and a faith-based education for your child, your search is over. Faithful Shepherd has all of this and more. Ranked in the top 20% nationally in academics, Spanish starting in Kindergarten, ranked in the top 25 private schools in the Twin City area and an amazing group of teachers. I strongly disagree with the teacher reviewer below. My family has been in this school for most of the time she quoted and Faithful Shepherd maintains a fantastic group of teachers. Check us out! You won't be disappointed. We welcome you to our amazing community of families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

At FSCS we have experienced a sense of community, faith-based, action-oriented school curriculum, and now we cannot imagine anything else! We have had excellent teachers, each time a perfect fit for how my child learns in the classroom. The principal is an excellent leader and is involved, and is a positive presence in the school. The parent community is involved, friendly, and just a fun bunch of people. Some of my favority things about our school include: UNIFORMS! (less laundry at home, and kids get to know each other at school for their interests and personalities), Catholic mass each week (singing songs they know, with priests from each parish), Catholic education each day (little to no additional classes outside of school required for sacramental prep), and the rotating schedule of specialists each week (Spanish, art, computer, gym, library, and music). I love that as my children get into middle school (FSCS is K through 8) they will be in an environment that supports them through preteen, instead of an enormous middle school where they are expected to grow up too fast. Really, I could go on and on about what I love about FSCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Choosing a school for our children was a hard decision; we liked the faith-based values and excellent education at Faithful Shepherd but we live in District 196 with excellent schools, does it really make sense to pay to go to Faithful Shepherd? YES, YES, YES! Nothing could have prepared me for how perfect this school is for our children and our family as a whole. The educators, students and families associated with this school are wonderful people and provide our children with an amazing education and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

We love this school. We moved our kids from the local middle school to Faithful Shepherd. It is a wonderful learning environment and academically challenging. My kids will definitely be prepared for High School. The teachers and leadership are caring, committed and thoughtful. We are not Catholic but love the Faith education. If I could do it again, I would have sent my kids there for elementary school, too. We feel blessed to be there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

I moved my child from this school two years ago after believing (and learning) that school leadership (Principal and Asst. Principal) was woefully unable to provide a compassionate and accepting environment for my child. We now attend another catholic school in the twin cities and the experience has been remarkably positive. Leadership is critical in the education of our children and although I am not accustomed (nor relish) writing negative reviews, the truth must be shared for the benefit of greater good. In summation, my personal experience at Faithful Shepherd Catholic school was one of misdirected blame and lack of faith values in the education and nurturing of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

This school has gone progressively downhill over the past 7 years. There is a rotating door of teachers, and all of the good ones seem to leave. Class sizes continue to rise and are now over 30 in the middle school. The administration seems more intent on filling seats than on providing a quality education. The school offers limited special needs services, but has more students who need services than it can handle. I would look elsewhere before sending my child here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2008

I recently graduated from 8th grade at this school; definitely recommended! This is one of the best elementary/junior high curriculums out there. The overall atmosphere is outstanding; Normally you would expect a teacher for this age group to be either horrifyingly rigid, or have a bad habit of patronizing students, but I can safely say that this is not the case with FSCS. The school population is a bit small, and while I was there, some cost cuts had been made...but do not let that hold you back. The school is amazing. -A very proud alumni


Posted April 4, 2008

hey i go to this school and i love it!! everybody is so nice and the teachers are great!!! actually ms.duffy (my math teacher) just got on Fox 9 News today for being the best teacher. and she just won another award last year!!! ms.p is a great teacher too. but now she's just a sub. :[ but i would rather go to DHMS because there's more people and we dont learn that much in religion. but fscs is still a great school, but we just have a lot of great school's in eagan.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2006

FSCS has been an outstanding school for our son. He has developed great self confidence and the teachers and staff are always going beyong their powers to make sure that each student gets the same opportunities to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3355 Columbia Drive
Eagan, MN 55121
Website: Click here
Phone: (651) 406-4747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT