Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eden Lake Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I have two kids, both of whom spent their entire elementary education at Eden Lake, the youngest with one more year left. I have nothing but great things to say about this school. It was frustrating to have so much turnover with principals for a few years there, and that lack of consistency, as was some of the ideologies of one of the past principals . . . but that indeed all seems to be several years in the past. My youngest has really seemed to thrive this year, with awesome and educational projects all year long. Well done, Eden Lake staff!

Eden Lake Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
We have had nothing but positive experiences at Eden Lake. There IS homework so some of these reviews are outdated, as I believe that was the case at some point. This school has gone through 3 principals since we started and I hope the current principal is there for awhile as Mr. Beekmann is amazing, my kids have so much respect for him.


Eden Lake Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
We've moved from Bloomington to Eden Prairie two years ago and have been very pleased with the communication of the teachers and staff, the academics and the actives at this school. Everyone we've encountered has been very professional and easy to communicate with. The principal is so pleasant and our son respects and likes him.. Also a special shout out to Mr. Banks and the orchestra teacher. There are so many teachers and staff that deserve a special mention. We've had positive encounters with all of them. My son can be difficult, too. So he's been a challenge.

Eden Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
Steve Banks deserves to be recognized as a valuable member of the staff. Mr. Beekmann is a very positive roll model and Mr. Walters has been very helpful.

Eden Lake Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
There many first rate teachers at this school. I'd like to mention the hard working orchestra teacher.I'm amazed how far the kids have come in their abilities.


Eden Lake Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are always willing to communicate and are very opened to meetings when an issue arise. My son can be a challenge and I've always had a positive experience working on my son's social issues. He is now in advanced Math and I'm so happy that the school has made it possible for him to excel at his best subject. Well done!

Eden Lake Elementary School 4

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
This is a disappointing rating and not consistent with previous years. Our kids have been in this school for 2 years (now 2nd and 4th). Both of our kids are in the Key program and take accelerated classes in math, and have participated in after school programs in science, chess and film making. Like many schools, there is an emphasis on testing that tends to shift the focus away from higher performing students. I suspect with the results this year that will only increase. As a parent, if you get involved with your kids' education you'll find that the school has a lot to offer, but you cannot take that for granted. Schedule an appointment at the school and talk to the administrators. The information and comments here (including this one) only tell part of the story.

Eden Lake Elementary School 1

Posted December 12, 2010
- a community member
This, imo, is a horrid school! The no homework policy has had such a detrimental effect on many of the children, who as they enter higher levels of education have attained no skills in managing homework and organization and have not had any opportunity to learn sustained effort. It is also a very difficult school, imo, to get adequate services for children with special needs. Getting the SPED staff to perform an evaluation is, imo, very difficult at best. Sure the teachers and staff are smiling and nice when you enter the door, that, imo, is because they don't actually do anything to educate your child and they still get their paychecks nonetheless. I say run Run RUN from this school.


Eden Lake Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
Eden Lake is average to slightly below. We have huge decrepancies within the district regarding standards and homework policies. Communication seems to be below what I am used to as well. If you are for no homework which reinforces daily learning then Eden Lake would be a good fit. I am more concerned about the seemingly real possibility that the reason we have a no homework policy is so that we can level the playing for the diversed population that we try to serve rather than some study that justifies their position of no homework. In essence, it seems we have lowered the requirement so that noone gets left behind but noone is stretching. The school receives 10,000 for ESL students to the 4,000 for English speaking students. We should be doing a better job of graduating ESL students to proficiency before immersing them into the mainstream classroom.

Eden Lake Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
I never go into Eden Lake School that I don't wish I could be a student there. Outstanding teachers and administrators. It is fun to be a student there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eden Lake Elementary School
1200 Anderson Lakes Parkway, Eden Prairie, MN  55344
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (952) 975-8400
Last modified Eden Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top